http vs https - it sure looks better with a secure website!

in #ssl2 years ago

I think it was about a month ago that I did some research and worked with sniffing data from unsecured networks. It was very interesting. I was actually using an encrypted network, but I tried to steal data gathered from websites using port 80, that is, the normal HTTP protocol, instead of https running at port 443. I tested on one of my own websites, and it was interesting that using Wireshark, I could quite easily find me sending information through forms on that given website. Of course, there are thousands and millions of packages sent on a wireless network normally, but you can easily use the search function to find packages that might be of interest to you. So, if someone submit an email address and a password, then you can snif it quite easily.

But, who would submit such data on a website that isn't secure? After all, email sites all use encryption and SSL/TSL certificates. As a result, this isn't very dangerous. But, you should still be careful, because there are phishing sites and more that also run unencrypted, and that fake the real websites.

That is why I decided earlier today to fix the server and get a real SSL certificate up and running. Unfortunately, my host required me to pay a lot for such a certificate. As a result, I decided to move the website to my own server in which I could have it all fixed with Let's Encrypt easily.

Now, a few hours later, the website no longer has an open lock next to the address, but it has a closed lock and it looks much better, and it feels much better. I should probably add that Google also supports this, because they have a tendency to let sites using secure protocols rank better in results than those operating without security.

How do you feel on such a Saturday? Would you like to take a look at one of the sites I am working with? Visit https://www.hungarybudapestguide.com/

If you are bored, come to Budapest and drink some hot wine at the Christmas markets in town.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60944.89
ETH 2608.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67