Feeling Blue

in #ssglife4 years ago

A favorite green space; Hume Park

I've always enjoyed the tremendous variety of bird wildlife in my neck of the neighborhood woods. Plenty of green space, trees, and fresh water creeks provide a variety of ecosystems for different birds. Waterfowl, birds of prey, and I more than enough crows and Canada geese, most that stay all year round. Mainly because of the mild climes and there being more than enough people to feed them daily.

There was one bird that I saw often by my kitchen and livingroom window, a Stellar's Jay that made my home part of her protected territory for the last few years.

I'd watch her spend a lot of energy shooing other birds away from her nesting spot in a nearby conifer and raised a few clutches over that time.

Just a few weeks ago, I found her.

"Blue, is that you?"
She seems quite still and unresponsive when I approached her. It took a few moments to realize that she had peacefully passed on. Even with the tiniest prod and expecting an explosion of flying blue feathers but she didn't move a muscle.
"Oh Blue."

This was an omen, a foreshadow of what I am dealing with at this time. Some of you noticed that I didn't post recently as I am dealing with my Mother being admitted to a hospital across town as her health had seriously declined.

It's difficult for me to write anything at this time as my Mother is very ill. Dealing with some difficult decisions, dealing with legal issues as I may likely invoke her Power of Attorney, and the anticipated stack of hospital bills that the public health system won't cover.

I have no ideal when I'll be back on my usual posting shtick. Maybe I can hope to get the odd little blog in. At least try to continue to support my communities with a little curating here and there.

It was hard enough dealing with the passing of my Father years ago, all I can do is hope for the best and yet expect the worst.

Excuse me, I need to go hug my kids.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Beautiful photos, and a beautiful article. Your Hume Park is lovely... and woe, you captured that awesome bird!
I am sorry to hear that you continue to face challenges with your Mommie's illness. I promise to continue to pray for her.
I can see how this type of article may be a respite for you. I hope that everything will change for the better... your Mom' health and your personal challenges of
time.
In the meantime, I wish you the best. Luv ya always, my dearest and sweetest sis, @kerrislravenhill. take care 🥰🌺🤙 and a million Hugs and Kisses 🤗💕💋!
!tip

Thank you Sis, it is inevitable that this kind of day will come. I hope I can make the right and wise decisions.

Trust your good instincts, knowledge, and morals... you will for sure make the right and wise decision. I continue to pray for you and your Mom, sis @kerrislrvenhil!!

Got a little choked up reading this. Hopefully your mom pulls through and hug those kiddos often. Probably not what you want to hear but - never know when it'll be the last one.

She is stable at this time but cannot live independently anymore and needs professional 24hr care. Looks like I'm gonna be busy with all the legal and financial stuff over the holidays.

Oh no! All of this is sad. Except for the lovely park.

I am so sorry about your mom. It sucks getting older. It sucks to have the people who love and raised us lose their independence, their health and to see them age and suffer. It sucks to have to deal with all of these things while working and raising your own kids and to not be able to focus just completely in one direction. It sucks to not necessarily have other people to help you cope with all the things.

I hope you are able to focus and find strength as you deal with everything on your plate.

Shoot. So much suckage.

And then the bird too! 😢

So many decisions to make for her now. Her thinking and memory is impaired but she still recognizes me. At least she had a Power of Attorney or things would be crazy. Have to stay focused and see things through. I do have a friend that has gone through a similar situation and is a phone call away.

Aw, I'm so sorry to read about all of that. I'm sure Blue gave you a number of summers of joyful songs. Hoping the best for your mom! That's never, ever an easy thing to deal with. Give the kids an extra tight hug.

I hope one of Blue's babies come back in the spring.
My Mom is stable for now but with impaired memory and logical processing. 😔

Hello sister friends,
I am sad to hear that your are going truth a difficult moment of life too.
Stay strong for your Mama and you. I pray for her. The sun is sometime shinning and another beautiful bird will come to say hi to you soon, I am sure :)

I knew this would eventually happen, can't avoid it but take this thing by horn and deal with it the best I can. I may not be posting my usual articles for a while with all this to deal with and I do have some help.
I hope one Blue's babies come back next spring.

It is always difficult to face to some situations but you took a good strategy and moreover, surround you with good and positive people. The time and God will do the rest.
Big hugs to you

🎁 Hi @kerrislravenhill! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @silversaver888!

@silversaver888 wrote lately about: An Evening Wednesday Walk Feel free to follow @silversaver888 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Congratulations @kerrislravenhill! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50