Invasion of the Japanese buxus mot

in #ssglife5 years ago (edited)

This is what we call buxus:

This the caterpillar of the Japanese buxus moth distroying buxus since 2009 first in Germany and now in Holland as well.

This is the result:

Am I victimized ? Yes last week I decided to remove 10 meters of buxus as it was completely destroyed. Would take years to grow back. I bought some other (small) plants and planted them today.

Lesson learnt:

Those Ozzies with their rigid border controls on any organic materials are not that stupid. One exotic bug can harm a whole country in a few years.

Goldrooster

Sort:  

I wonder if this is the same as what we call a box hedge? I have many of them lining the path to my house and they have been dying this past year for unknown reasons. It is very sad.

56806A7C-0CD5-484C-A937-FBDA9FB75802.jpeg

Not sure but there is also a fungus doing that. The caterpillars you can spot easily in spring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78