My first Silver Stackin Purchase

in #ssg6 years ago (edited)

5 oz Scottsdale Mint Throwback Silver Bar

This is my very first purchase of silver and probably not my last. Because I have little faith in fiat currency holding its value against anything really I felt it would be better to store some of my funds in silver instead of cash money.

20180821_091940.jpg

So here we have it the first of a three part post with me unveiling the 5oz Throwback Silver Bar from Scottsdale Mint in Arizona.

20180821_091952.jpg

I'm not sure if what to look for in quality silver but I do know it looks very nice and shiny.

20180829_210213.jpg

It did notice it has these kind of spiral pattern on the bottom side. If you can enlighten me as to why it has this let me know in the comments.

20180829_210555.jpg

Thanks for visiting my first silver post. I will have 2 more pieces to show off soon so keep your eyes out for them because they're just as if not nicer pieces than this one!

Sort:  

Very fine metal you have there! Upboats and a resteem for you Smasher of the blunt. :)

Awesome, thanks bro!

The pattern is due to how the molten silver was poured into the bar. They've sanded the bottom to make it pretty, but you can still see the pattern. It's cool though - poured bars are slightly cooler and nicer than other bar styles (IMO). Brands don't matter too much but the one you've got it fine. I think it's a good purchase. Bars have low premium compared to 1oz coins like Maples and Eagles. Those have their own pros and cons of course. Silver atoms are a good thing though, diversifying into precious metal is wise to the max. Work your way up to 1/10th ounce of gold, perhaps? Prices sure are cheap right now. Fiat blows goats.

Thanks for the info dude! Glad it appears I made a decent decision for my first purchase. I really did like the design. Hopefully I can make my way to some gold. And yeah couldn't agree more fiat blows goats!

Blows goats! I love you candians!

Sweet pick up!

I think poured and pressed silver bars are cool. And pressed do stack easier 😉

The big thing is just to ensure you're going through a reputable dealer. Avoid anything that seems to be too good of a deal, unless you are certain it's legit.

With this being Silver bear market. It's a perfect time to start going long on silver.

I can would be doing that too if my funds weren't tied into real estate...

One other note. The premium on different types of silver bars usually doesn't change much. So the higher you pay at time of purchase you can usually expect about the same, again regardless of new silver spot price, at some future date.

I say this in hopes you are not discouraged to diversify the types of silver you invest in.

Happy growing & stacking!!!
@massmedicinals

i found some of these too and couldn't resist, i like these rough molds

woohoo!! great purchase bro bro! love it and keep Stackin!! xo

Ahh yeea. Gotta keep the stackin up.

Very nice loaf you have there and the swirl-finish on the back looks as good as the front.

Thanks @article61. So loaf is what they call them, I see that now.

I think they do but I'm not sure if that depends on wait too(I'm new to all the jargon). Looks like some sweetbread to me, however you cut it. :) I'll stop with the bread puns now.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Bluntsmasha from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88