SteemSports 2K Giveaway Submission

in #ss2kgiveaway7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3166.JPG
(Photo credit: Melissa Thrush Photography)
My youngest son - no quit on that face!

Sports have always been a part of my life.

Growing up I played every sport I could and eventually my love for sports transpired into a career path for me with a Degree in Athletic Training. But this is not the reason I count sports as one of the most influential factors in my life. It is because of the undeniable fact that it has helped me teach my children through their own participation, some of the most important lessons in life. When my oldest son asked me at age 6 if he could wrestle I was hesitant. I had heard many negative things about the sport. It can be really rough, it teaches kids to fight, and there is no pro league or future in the sport. But he pushed to try and I finally gave in. Now four years later with two boys wrestling, what I have discovered, is that wrestling, has taught my children far more than I could have ever hoped to teach them on my own.

Through wrestling they have learned that life is TOUGH.

You don't always win and not all those watching are rooting for you. Sometimes your best isn't good enough and somebody else is just better. They have learned that giving up or quitting is not an option. Perseverance is how you make things happen. It has taught them respect for their peers, their coaches and themselves. They shake hands with their opponent before and after each match, win or lose, and they walk off the mat with confidence.

IMG_3168.JPG
(Photo credit: Molly Zimmerman)
My oldest son medaling at the PA State Wrestling Tournament

To those that say this sport provides no future, I say you couldn't be more wrong. Their future is now limitless. What they have learned through their time as wrestlers will make them productive adults. They will grow up to be strong, confident, and hardworking. They won't ever expect a hand out. They will always be respectful. They will know what it feels like to face a difficult situation head on and walk away knowing they did their best. They will themselves be a reflection in life of what it means to be a wrestler.

Follow me @wickedcute

Sort:  

Great post @wickedcute! Awesome action shots too ;)

The dynamic of team vs. individual sports is super interesting. I never thought about how that can guide a young athlete in different ways. There's so much that goes on mentally as well as physically. My brother was a big advocate of track and field for similar reasons. In so many cases, your biggest opponent is yourself. Challenging those uncertainties at age 6 definitely prepares you for more down the road!

Thanks so much for sharing!

That is very true. In track and field, just like wrestling, you are on a team but your battle is your own. Often against yourself!

The two future state champs!!! That pic of Gabe says everything that needs to be said about him. Very good analogy between sports and life. Now get out there and practice!!!!

I've seen two types of parents- the ones who are supportive and caring, and who teach their children to respect others no matter what the outcome of the match, meet, or competition. The other type, and you've seen them, exhibit shameful behavior toward their children, the coaches, other parents and the winners. They are nothing but bullies and their poor children probably grow up to be just like them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20