You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemSports 2k Giveaway Submission - My sport of choice: Martial Arts are my meditation

in #ss2kgiveaway7 years ago

That's a very interesting perspective on a sport that to an outsider might appear to be utterly violent.
What do you think made you decide to go for the "burn calories, look better" fitness exercise regime, as you say, in order to fix your shape instead of resorting back to your well-proven Taekwando practice?

Sort:  

I know that my Taekowndo coaches would probably tornado-kick me for saying this, but after almost five years of training 5x a week, I kinda felt like I had learned everything I needed to learn. At that point I had also fallen out of love with TDK a bit due to the heavy sportification of the art and the point-oriented sparring that was pushed into us. In other words, my relationship with TKD had ran its cycle. If I came back to martial arts, I wanted to learn something new.

I am a bit embarrassed to admit that afterwards I fell into that whole shallow fitness train because I was subtly brainwashed by all those "Bikini Body Programs" that suddenly became super popular in social media; I honestly thought that I could get a six pack and look like a fitness model in 12 weeks by doing lots of HIIT and cardio...

Also I think I found the thought of finding and joining a new Martial Arts academy a bit intimidating, so I put it off and started making excuses ("I will join one once I get into shape"). But one day I just called myself out and took the plunge, and now my only regret is not having done it much earlier!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14