SteemSports 2k Giveaway Submission: What Sports Mean To Me

in #ss2kgiveaway7 years ago (edited)


(District Tennis)

Sports are more than a game to me.

First, they are my livelihood. One can find me coaching tennis or football on nearly every day of the year. In the late summer and fall I will be on the practice field or under the lights at Leonard Cole field, coaching quarterbacks and defensive backs. In the winter, you'll find me in our town's indoor tennis court, playing tennis with my family or supervising workouts.


(Our Football Scoreboard)

In the spring, I'll be on our high-school tennis courts coaching the Varsity tennis team. Right now, however, is one of my favorite times of my year. I coach the youth tennis program in our town, teaching just under 60 players from age 4-18 the game of tennis. My red-ball class, from 4-7 years old, is full of 22 energetic youth. It's like a kindergarten class with weapons. I earn my keep for that hour of the day, but all the hugs makes it worth it.

Secondly, they are a passion. The first football game I ever watched was the Chicago Bears vs New England Patriots Super Bowl. I was six years old and felt awful for the Patriots as they were thoroughly trounced. This has led to my 30+ year obsession with the team, which led to me working with them through USA Today / Bleacher Report as a journalist. Speaking with Coach Belichick and interviewing players like Dont'a Hightower and Tom Brady were highlights of my career.


(Interviewing Tom Brady)

Lastly, sports are a way to give back. We have a saying on our football coaching staff. Sometimes there are "players that need us more than we need them." These are the students that need our discipline, our guidance, our love. When I graduates that could have dropped out... when I see productive citizens that could have chose a different path... I'm so glad that sports could be the hook that they needed.

Sort:  

This post has received a 4.35 % upvote from @booster thanks to @nepd.

This post has received a 6.98 % upvote from @booster thanks to @nepd.

Thanks for your contribution to others nepd! I feel that in the end we all either choose support each other or we don't. I see us all as a part of a larger Oneness.

Good post @nepd i'm following you please follow me and give me

We should study sports the way we study other college 🎓 degrees!

Love that line "a way to give back" , people should embrace that line. Everybody should. Let money not be the one to make the world go round but, us. Thanks for sharing. Really heart felt. Cheers.

#upvoted #follow4follow

Lets get those kids sharpened up on that tennis court!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57451.97
ETH 3105.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32