I have something to tell you baby girl.... school is a wonderful but there will be upsets ~

in #sreemiteducation6 years ago (edited)

My heart feels full as I watch you sleep, you are so perfect and beautiful. You can't hear me, but I need t say this to you now. You have been nurtured, stimulated and protected over the last six years, singing, reading and talking have filled the house. There have been playdates, day care, kindergarten, prep, music classes, swimming classes and gym classes. I have done my best to prepare you, to develop the resilience in you to skilfully tackle any problem that crops up.

Tomorrow is your first day of grade one. A teacher is in charge of looking after you. This is a big deal, I am not going to be beside you to help you make the right decisions, I am not going to be ever present with the reminders of what to do. You have to figure out how you are going to fit in with classmates and the teacher. I really hope you like school, that you feel comfortable and can understand the lessons. Listening to directions and doing your work tasks is going to be fun but remember you must get them done within a certain time. There are going to be lots of choices to make in grade one and in all the grades to come. I know you will be a fantastic student.

You are going to learn to fend for yourself in the playground. Be prepared for upsets baby girl. Another child is bound to kick your lunchbox or wont't you play or hurts your feelings. How are you going to handle it? Are you going to cry, sit on your own or find someone else to play with. Expect putdowns and being laughed at, it happens to everyone. Bullies get a kick hurting other kids. Look them in the eye, stand up for yourself, be assertive. Don't let them worry you and if they do tell a teacher. Be assured that I am always available for chatting. Tell me when something is troubling you please.

The most exciting part of I am looking forward to is you developing social awareness and understanding. I see you becoming a socially responsible mature graduate at the end of grade 12. Just remember that I am always watching over you ready to help if you need me. It is my job as a parent to be your advocate communicating with the teacher and principal whenever I am needed.

Nothing is ever so bad that I won't listen and help you. I will always love you no matter what.

Cheers and Blessings

Sort:  

haha! howdy angiemitchell! Great advice to the young one just starting out but I think under your wise care they would always be prepared and thrive!

Morning janton, haha I did my best as a parent, those early years were busy ones as you I am sure you well remember. They just fly by as do the school years. Time marches on, lol.

howdy again angiemitchell! yes it does, it's why we need to make our decisions wisely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63313.88
ETH 2629.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76