A newbie POWERS UP for SPUD2

in #spud25 years ago

Okay, it took a lot of figuring out what keys to use and looking at things I have never seen in my Steemit wallet and making mistakes, but thank God for this excellent guide by @rickyjrx on how to both power up Steem and transfer SBD to Steem if you don't have much Steem to work with.

So I got back into my Steemit wallet (for the THIRD time... newbie problems), looked at the 4.59 Steem I already had and said, "I can do better than that," then used all my available SBD to buy Steem in the market area. That gave me a total of 75.399 Steem, and I then powered up all of it! It is done!

spud2proof.png

For ease of mathematics, I just became a minnow this week, so I had 501SP when I started, with 435SP of that delegated. I have now powered up 75.399 more, so for a little while I was at 576SP. BUT, within ten minutes, someone reduced my delegation 75SP, so I am right back down at 501 SP again! I'm not mad... that's 75SP someone else will be able to have to support their emergence as a minnow! I just mention it because I know this contest is calculated on percentage, and I wanted it to be clear that I did NOT power up 75.399 Steem while sitting at a starting point of 425SP, but from a starting point of 501SP, so, a lower percentage.

Now, I must personally power down ... I need sleep before a conference, a rehearsal, and all the other reasons why I am powering up here in the wee hours of the first morning in June.

Happy SPUD2, Steemians!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit LOL. I had the same issue when I started. Very glad you found a video to help you out. Nice power up too. I know for me, I feel a little bit of an accomplishment each time I power up. Keep up the great work @deanndmathews

Thank you so much -- it was quite the experience, but now that I have done it, I don't think it will even be quite that hard again. Right now I have delegation support to maintain me at minnow level (thank you, @ocd and the Operation Slider Delegation), so the main task for me now is to "repay" that delegation and free it up for others to use. Going through this process will make it ever so much quicker to do that! Maybe I'll have it all together by the time #spud3 hits!

That is awesome. It took me a while to get a delegation so awesome that someone has done that for you. Over the last few months, I have managed to grow almost to a 'natural' minnow. If you haven't done this yet join Ashers' Engagement and Curation League. @abh12345 is the account he puts out the report at the end of every week.

I can't wait to get my SP up more. I want to do like @simplymike and @eaglespirit. Both very giving and supportive people. I can't wait to be able to support others such as yourself with a delegation to help them grow. For now words of encouragement and upvotes!!

Congratulations @deeanndmathews! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.
You made more than 400 comments. Your next target is to reach 500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Steem..🔥 💪 💪 💪🚀🚀🚀
Happy Saturday
Happy # SPUD2
Happy life
Steem.🔥 💪
Vota, reSTEEM, lo comparto en twitter

Steem..🔥 💪 💪 💪🚀🚀🚀
Feliz sabado
Feliz # SPUD2
Vida feliz
Steem.🔥 💪
Voto, reSTEEM, comparto en twitter

Congrats @deeanndmathews you're Minnow now.👍

It was nice, "your Steemit got powered up and you got powered down". 😄

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought readers might enjoy that... thanks for noticing!

Yes, it can be a bit confusing with all the passwords/keys but now you have an understanding of how it works and it should be easier the next time. I appreciate the efforts you went through in order to get this done and not giving up and/or staying up late to see it through. That is usually what successful do.
Anyhow, I just wanted again thank you for your efforts...I also wanted to mention that when I first started this I did not consider the fact that some have delegated steem until I started to have to figure out the numbers. I deliberated for quite a bit before deciding that I would not included delegated steem power in the calcs just for my own sanity's sake and to avoid confusion. Unfortunately because of this you were just shy of the 75 Steem Power minimum threshold.
But your efforts have at least gained one new supporter in your efforts here on the Steem blockchain.
See you for #spud3

I respect your decision and the structure of the contest -- it's no problem! I gained knowledge of how to power up, how to turn SBD into Steem, how to understand my wallet, and why SP is where the action is. I also will be able to make it to 500SP on my own ten times faster than otherwise because I know now what to do with my SBD and Steem as it comes along -- and I found out about @wherein and @smartsteem, and will be able to make use of them once I get enough SP to work with! So far as I am concerned, this was definitely a win-win proposition -- and having your support is just icing on the cake! Thank you for doing all of this for us!

Thanks for the understanding and for the support. Also so glad that things are making sense here. Take care!!

Two more tips for you that you might not know about, but that will help you make the most of your steem experience!

Check the value of SBD here: https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/steem-dollars/
and if it's significantly ($0.90 or lower, I'd say, YMMV) below $1

  1. instead of using the market to trade for steem, you can convert it directly to steem at a value of $1 (averaged over the course of three days. It takes three days to do it this way - steemworld.org has an easy tool)
  2. If you think the SBD might stay below that $1 threshhold for a while, use the 100% SP power up choice in settings rather than 50/50

Of course, when it's above or near its $1 peg, like it is now, do the opposite of those two things ;)

Thank you so much -- this makes sense, sort of... I was giving thought to going 100% SP, but it looks like it isn't the right time for that.

I mean, if you don't want to think about it, it's not a terrible thing to do. Maybe you lose those two pennies per SBD, but it might be worth not having the minor annoyance of checking your wallet constantly.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well done!! It takes a while to figure it out!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you -- still figuring, but making progress!

Congratulations for becoming a minnow! With these prices I hope you will become a dolphin in 2 months or sooner.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Working on it... what is Snax?

It is an app with its own blockchain which rewards users for social media engagement. Right now it works on Twitter and Steem but will expand to YouTube, Reddit etc. Every day I'm receiving over 2000 Snax tokens just for engaging on Steem. Check out @snaxteam for more details.

Thanks!

What SP level is a dolphin?

Posted using Partiko iOS

500 SP is a minnow, 5000 SP is a dolphin, 50000 SP is an orca and 500000 SP is a whale. What is your next target? Also have you linked your Steem account with Snax yet? You will earn double rewards. When Snax hits exchanges, it will start to have value.

I think I have.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow!!! Congrats!!! That's a great achievement!! Whoop whoop!!! 💃💃💃

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83