Early Bird SPUD X | JPUD | SteemCampUK | 365 Day Challenge | SteemleoShop

in #spud5 years ago (edited)

image.png
Source 1st of the month - time for @streetstyle's amazing SPUDX initiative.

Early Bird

I'm early this month because tomorrow, as part of my Health Goals 2020, I am going to visit some of my family (at least four and possibly fourteen) in Horsham in West Sussex. We're booked into the Black Jug for lunch, the menu looks great and I'm paying for it out of savings I've made during January.

SPUD

So to Steem Power Up Day for 1 February 2020, or in my case 31 January. At the beginning of the year, I powered up to a nice round 28,600 Steem. It's grown somehow to 29,027 since then, which is a bit strange since I haven't been very busy here, but somehow I've earned 174 Steem through the month and powered up 253 Steem as well. I'm powering up another 173 Steem today to bring it to 29,200.

I should reach my target of 30,000 Steem by 1 March 2020, unless the markets go crazy. I never know whether to laugh or cry when the Steem price increases. On the one hand, it's nice to see I'm recovering some of my investment (hypothetically anyway, as I not actually selling any Steem), and on the other, I haven't finished buying yet!

JPUD

Over on ReggaeSteem there's a parallel initiative to encourage everyone to stake jahm - JPUD! You can get the full story in this post by @crypticat, as well as news about jahmfest planned for 26-28 June this year.

Earlier in the month I hit a wrong button in steemrewarding and, without realising it, de-activated all my jahm curation rewards for trailing the jahm.whitelist. I've finally sorted it out, but jahm rewards are looking a little thin this month. Never mind, I'm still powering up 1,730 jahm to bring my stake to 143,850 jahm.

By the way, @dmilliz, one of the founders of @reggaesteem, posted a wonderful vlog talking about the impact Steem has had on his life. It's truly inspiring.

SteemCampUK - Save the Date

Just a reminder that SteemCampUK will be on Saturday 25 April 2020, at De Montfort University in Leicester, facilitated by @lloyddavis. There will be some fringe events on the Friday afternoon, run by the University. You can read more about it in Daniel Lambert's Trousers.

365 Day Challenge

This is a penny a day savings challenge initiated by @spinvest. You can read all about it in this post. I decided to open two new accounts: @moneyforjam and @moremoneyforjam as my savings accounts for the challenge.

One account, @moneyforjam, is a Steem savings account. So far I've powered up 161 Steem, the equivalent of all my pennies a day for January and February.

The second account, @moremoneyforjam, has also had 161 Steem invested in it, but they've all gone to buy SPI tokens. I'm interested to see which of the two accounts earns more during the year long challenge. I had planned to blog and vote with @moneyforjam, but I haven't got round to that yet.

I was inspired to review a few regular spending things, though. By setting a budget for travel and food for January, and changing my energy supplier, I've saved enough money to pay for my trip to Horsham. Well pleased :) It feels like I'm getting a free trip. Last year I missed seeing family due to the various ups and downs I experienced. This year, I was determined to re-connect.

SteemleoShop

I read about this yesterday and had to try it out. It works perfectly!

Screenshot 125.png

Thanks to @basilmarples and @sazzler for the lovely tune, and @spinvest for the bonus tokens pack. In both cases, rude not to.

Steem Engine

Bonus supplement: I reckon I have about 16,000 Steem tied up in Steem-Engine between SPI, jahm and everything else.

Hope everyone enjoys their power up day!

PS you can earn SPI tokens by setting @spi-payments as a beneficiary.

Sort:  

Great progress post.

I know exactly where that pub is in Horsham, I've been there a few times.

Are SPI shares worth it? I'm not even sure what they are, but I noticed the 10% discount in the shop!

I think buying in gradually is a good move, although I'm finding I'm holding more back in BTC than I used to.

Good to diversify and I'm glad you found a few tokens you like on Steem-engine.

You're possibly the first SPUD entrant! Although I did actually write mine yesterday, I'm just holding it for tomorrow.

The menu looks very nice and so do the photographs. I was a bit late booking a table (yesterday) and it sounds like they are going to be busy, but they were very accommodating (I have no idea how many people will actually turn up tomorrow at 12.30pm) and have put me on a table for six "so that more can join you". The other option was the Olive - have you tried there?

Are SPI shares worth it?

Erm, I guess it depends what you're comparing them with. The fund aims for a return of 20% a year, but I think it does better than that.

BTC is my next thing. As soon as I get one of those wallet things :)

I was just reading the intro post, I sort of get it now, be good to get the founder along in April, it seems that he's British.

Coinomi is a good mobile wallet, the Crypterium Wallet also works well, I'm still not convinced by my ledger.

Yeah, @silverstackeruk, he's in Northern Ireland. Great bloke, full of ideas (and energy).
Good tips for wallets, thank you.

Nice full update !! Although you haven’t been as active as I’m sure you would like, you’re still earning like a boss! And not to mention, staying busy it seems! Nice to see you’re sticking to those 2020 health goals. Have a great time with family

Cheers shani

Hello @conradsuperb :) how is life? good, I hope. I just read you post about how steem impacted your life. I loved the story about meeting another Steemian in a place of only 400 people. We have about half a million people here, but my nearest Steemian is twenty five miles away! I see you've just posted about jahmfest, on my list to read!

Life is good :) I hope the same for you, too.

It was a pretty unique experience, and rather unexpected. It happened in the matter of 20 or so hours of me being there. Just like that. Checked off my steem bucket list :)

Jahmfest will be another one for the bucket list - hope to see you there 😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

@shanibeer, It's reflecting as you are having very effective and productive Steem and JAHM Journey. Keep enjoying your SPUD Series and stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @chireerocks, good to see you. Hope all is well with you.

Welcome. I am doing good, thank you for asking. Have a wonderful time ahead. 🙂

Hi Shanibeer! A lot has certainly happened. Sorry to hear about the curation mishap, posting is way better anyway 🐱. At least you still get the POS.

Any chance of seeing you at Jahmfest?


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Hello @crypticat 😎 Good to see you! I'm looking forward to catching up with the posts about your trip. I also met with a friend in the travel industry, he organises global conferences (usually held in North America), and gained a few more insights - I'll post them soon. Not sure about jahmfest, we have a family wedding then. I'm trying to organise a couple of months at the end of the year ... if I can arrange work around a longer trip. Let's see what happens.

My stepson leaves for Canada at the end of February. He's got somewhere to live in Calgary and he will be travelling. I'll let you know if he's coming your way. Did I say he wants to do some trucking? His brother wants to come over and make a film about it.

@shanibeer thanks for sharing this beautiful information..


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Hello @jihu, thank you for passing by. How are you?

i am good and you??


Posted via ReggaeSteem | Reggae Culture Rewarded

Thank you @shanibeer for supporting #spud and for mentioning it as well, I truly appreciate it. Take care and have a great day.

ps. Those are some great goals and achievements in Steem Power, kudos!

My pleasure 😊 It's a lovely initiative that gives everyone an opportunity to enjoy their contribution, thank you for organising it. I was surprised how much Steem I have tied up in Steem-Engine, that was a stealth thing - a few tokens here, a few tokens there, before you know it, a few fat stakes!
Hope you get the water pump 💐

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62213.63
ETH 2420.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59