Splintertalk.io - Let's talk about card balancing

in #spt5 years ago

I don't know about other TCG but Splinterlands is more similar to another mobile game that I play, Clash Royale. In that game, cards balancing are done on a monthly basis. The decisions to nerf or buff a card is based on data gathered from the millions of games played daily. The key analysis is win rate at the top level. If a card in Clash Royale has higher than expected winning (or losing) rate, then it will be considered for a nerf (or buff).

The last balancing by Splinterlands was done months ago and I think it is time to look into this now. Besides looking at game statistics, players feedback is equally important too. Because monsters cards in Splinterlands are assets tradable on the market, i.e cards have value. Decision to nerf or buff a card will impact its value on the market. Some hodlers will make noise. Others will rejoice.

Some monsters that needs looking into are Prince Rennyn, Lord Ariantus, etc. If you don't have these cards, you can't compete at the very top. I do not have the statistics, but I believe Earth team will Rennyn has extreme high win rate. This is not good for the game, imo. In Clash Royale, such meta will quickly be balanced, so that the game remains fun.

I believe regular balancing of monsters cards will bring more fun to the game and add speculative activity to the cards market as well. Hope the founders and devs will take this seriously. DECs and orbs and new monsters had brought new excitement to Splinterlands, but it is now time to go back to making the game actually fun and playable again.

Sort:  

Key thing here is "regular" balancing, well said. For the long term health of the game it's worth being consistent with an approach to balancing. It helps to manage expectations and also just keeps the game in check and most importantly,..fun!

Thats right. Hopefully the devs can look into this and come out with a consistent approach for all of us players.

I agree. Prince Rennyn is way OP. I'm not complaining, lol. The card gives me the opportunity to rank higher. However, I only own level 3, so I need to lease the level 4.

If I remember correctly, every time rebalancing comes up in the mavs' house, a lot of players are opposed to it. Glad to hear a different opinion, for a change :0)

Maybe I am just jealous, coz I don't have Rennyn. LOL.
I think only some, most mavs will support changes that makes the game a better one. Ultimately it is up to the devs to decide if they want to do it or not.

From what I've seen in the past, the devs often base their decision on what the mavs want or don't want, lol.
It's a coin on his side, I think. Because Prince Rennyn is so expensive, only the big investors can afford the card. If they make him less strong, these investors/top players lose a bit of their advantage over other players.

I'm curious whether this will start the discussion again, and even more curious about the outcome. :0)

Personally I think it would be a good idea to rebalance the game regularly. Last week I saw someone mention that the new Death healer is OP too.

If you bring so mant new cards into the game in such a short time, I think you can't go without rebalancing.

Loading...

I really feel like the card balancing is in a really tough position. You don't want the power creep to start coming in and make every new card a must need in each battle. But you also can't make the new cards really irrelevant where they are never used, thus they are making new abilities and new combat rules that let players have the ability to use all cards. Sure there are some cards never being used, but at the same time is it giving the players choices on how to use their cards instead of changing (buffing or nerfing) cards. I might just be in the realm of the old school card games where erratas and changes to how the cards wording/stats were printed had a very negative precedent in terms of gameplay and trust in the balance testing before the cards come out. There are exceptions in card games where the card actually gets banned in the format, but that might not be something healthy for such a new game like splinterlands.

Ah now that you mentioned it, it does seem like this is their method of card balancing, by introducing new ruleset and abilities. Hmmm, I am not sure, if this is good or bad. We shall see.

Yeah. I believe that once they made the changing rulesets that that was the last of their balance changes to the particular card. Feel like they have enough rulesets for them to make some cards kinda bad. But like someone else said in a comment, the 2 health buff and multiple tank heals for Green make Rennyn in my opinion still really strong even in rule sets like broken arrow.

Maybe it’s just worth strengthening other cards that will make Renin irrelevant, for example, add another minus 1 to ranged combat, instead of The Peakrider shield.
#spt #palnet

Yup that is one way. IMO, Rennyn's op strength is not the +1 ranged, but the +2 health. If its up to me, I would change one of the health to +1 speed.

A great option with +1 speed instead of 1 life. I hope someone reads us :)
#spt #palnet

你那里天气如何?想一展歌喉吗?好声音@cn-voice欢迎你~假如我的留言打扰到你,请回复“取消”。

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

So true about Lord Arianthus. Every time I get a match I have to check if the player uses him or not because his presence throws the game completely off. Paired with a healer, he is almost impossible to beat. So, the only recourse is to play him too. And then the game becomes boring because suddenly you have no choice but to use that card.

Hi @jrvacation!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.031 which ranks you at #3383 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 10 places in the last three days (old rank 3373).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 175 contributions, your post is ranked at #21.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I'm all for balancing when needed as while a card being nerfed my lose value, the entire market will benefit in the long run due to a better game, I guess people don't find a buff as hard to stomach?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66