'Summoning the Air Elemental' - New Original Music - Splinterlands Music/Lore Contest Submission! Orchestral/World/Instrumental + Walkthrough!

in #spt5 years ago

Screenshot 20190720 23.01.28.png

Here's my submission for

this week's Splinterlands Music/Lore Contest! I decided to try and use some new instruments from the Native Instruments Komplete Start set I downloaded a few weeks ago, like the shakuhachi, and persian ney, both of which are used for basically the whole song. I also used some sounds from Spitfire Audio's LABS, and some Ableton instrument packs, including the orchestral cymbals and marimba.

Listen to Summoning the Air Elemental here.

I knew I wanted to do

a song about/inspired by the Air Elemental, so it had to have a certain airy quality to it, which I think those two flute-esque world instruments accomplished. I also wanted it to have a sorta medieval/action vibe, but when I began working with this slower speed, I liked it a lot and decided to try and accomplish this harmonically.

Screenshot 20190720 23.02.01.pngShakuhaci Melody, B part.
Listen to Summoning the Air Elemental here.
Screenshot 20190720 23.06.56.pngTrack 4, Cello, A part.

We have two main sections,

A and B, and our intro, which are marked in the overview screenshot at the top of the post. The share a lot of the main instruments, like the synth in Track 1, of course the shakuhachi and ney in 2 and 3, respectively, and the LABS Cello in Track 4. The drums are Tracks 5 and 6, which I doubled and panned out (and added a little variation in tone between the two), which made them a lot fuller, and a little saturator to cut through the thickness of the first 4 tracks.

Listen to Summoning the Air Elemental here.

Track 7 provides some accents

on the 1 of each measure with a sorta psychedelic guitar line in the A parts, while the next two tracks play an effected piano and tubular bells over the B part, playing the chord tones, thirds and fifths, and harmonizing with each other. Track 10 is the orchestral cymbal, which accents the beginning of both B parts, and the 2nd A part. Finally, we have the marimba in Track 11, which just accents chord tones.

Screenshot 20190720 23.06.42.pngTrack 9, Tubular Bells, B part.

I hope you dig the song! Check out the other contestants here and support them with some upvotes!


Check out my new E.P. numerical here.

Click here to listen to all of my Steem Monsters inspired songs!


Grapthar logo!.png

Sort:  

🏆 Hi @grapthar! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @carolkean
Subscribe and increase the reward for @grapthar :) | For investors.

Very nice song , it makes me feel peace hahaha

hah, thanks for listening!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77