You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPS for development

in #sps5 years ago

I'm not particularly against open source, but

I don't see anyone suddenly taking SteemWorld code to create Steemworld2.org

SteemWorld is not open source...


I have been paid to implement open-source software. Sometimes non-tech people need tech people to interpret readily available code.

However, I still have a little trouble with the pro-open-source and pro-free-software argument. I see things like a mixture of what you said, which I agree with, and what bashadow says. It is true that many valuable Steem services died and, as they were closed-source, nobody could reimplement them.

At the same time, whenever I've worked in an "open-source" way, it's been by being paid once, delivering code and then never seeing any returns ever again. Perhaps I'm not business-minded and I've thus designed my business models in a short-term way. Perhaps I'm just not very good at thinking about long-term self-benefit strategies. It still gives me a bit of fear towards open source.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62647.29
ETH 2439.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66