Mane is world class. You're just realizing but I've known it for long

in #sprtshub5 years ago

1553343337_1553339952682.jpg

Getty Image of Mane

Ever since watching the player at Southampton, I knew there was a genius in the Senegalese. He's ball control is excellent, up there with the likes of Messi. However, it's not this that bought me over to the player's side. Rather, it's his calm in the face of seemingly overwhelming pressure.

I looked at the game as Liverpool battled Real Madrid for the European title last season. I remember watching with awe as Mane played. Contrary to what should be expected of a player who's seeing his first Champions league final, Mane carried about his duty with grace and even when Salah was carried off the pitch, injured by the unforgiven Ramos, it was encouraging to watch Mane still play like he didn't have a care in the world.

It's that quality that makes him stand out. He's been made for the game.

I watch the award ceremony for the best African player. Mane made the podium with Salah who eventually won the title. While I think Salah deserved a shot at it - his stats for 2018 was incredible- I thought then, and still think so now, that it should have been Salah congratulating Mane and not the way we saw it.

This could yet change. Mane has been in terrific form this year season. He's scored 19 goals, one behind Aguero who has scored more from penalties than the Senegalese. I agree with Klopp when he said at the beginning of the season that Mane is up there among the best in the world but hasn't realized it. I think the player's beginning to come to terms with that. It's little wonder Zidane wants him in place of Gareth Bale. I can only wish him best of luck. I'd be happy too if Mane left. Don't blame me. I'm a Manchester United supporter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59193.30
ETH 2532.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47