Spring Break Part II

in #springbreak5 years ago (edited)

         In hindsight, I will most likely avoid making "Part I", "Part II" posts. The fact that I am unmotivated to post anything makes these miniseries awkward. Who would want to read anything days or weeks after the fact? Not that it matters, most Steemians do not read.

         This reminds me of this one April Fool's Day joke by NRA five years ago. There was an article that made me chuckle. Here is the link:

https://gawker.com/npr-pulled-a-brilliant-april-fools-prank-on-people-who-1557745710

The real question isn't why we don't read anymore, it's why we comment—passionately and with the utmost confidence—after reading only a headline.

         From Reddit to obscure Steem, it never fails. You will find some passionate comments, etc. that you later realize to be utter garbage. That is, if you ever bother do some fact checks yourself. Who am I kidding? Of the million plus accounts here, the actual number of real people is more like twenty thousand...at best.

         Anyhow, here are some photos from the aviary I visited with family and friends over spring break. The weather was more or less perfect. It was not too hot or too cold.

duck.jpg

         This little duck was ready for the day. I was standing right in front of him when I took this photo. Looks like someone wanted some early lunch. Sure enough, it was waiting by the food dispense and following visitors around.

crane.jpg

         Looks like the sandhill crane was preparing to raise some chicks. I found it a bit odd that the eggs came before the nest. I am not sure, but the kids seemed excited to see the bird putting its nest together for the eggs. Don't worry, its partner is near, it's not in the shot.

IMG_2108.jpg

         My luck with peacocks has never been great. I always catch them when their feathers are down. I would love to see one in full display in person one day. I don't know much about keeping peacocks, but the ones at the zoo also roam around free.

macaw.jpg

         Macaws are magnificent birds. Their agility in the air also surprised me. One of the aviary's macaws is actually an artist. You could purchase its artworks from $40 to $70. Its name is Picasso, go figure. The keeper told us that this type of bird can live as long as a human, sometimes longer if kept in good shape. Now, that is a pet of a lifetime.

         I am not much of a photographer. Most of the photos I have taken come from my smartphone. Speaking of which, I may need to upgrade when iOS 13 releases.

         That about does it. I do not have any more adventures planned with the family until Independence Day, and that will be in July. Memorial Day usually involves some barbeque at home for me. But hey, at the end of the day, it is the time you spend and experiences you enjoyed that matter.


Sponsored ( Powered by dclick )

dclick-imagead

Sort:  

Hahahha thats an interesting viewpoint, why do you say steemians dont read?

Posted using Partiko Android

Experience. Many don't.

That prank was brutal lol. Kinda like elementary school when the first to finish the test wins but the rules say just answer the last question.
You must live in a peaceful area,
Around here the ducks don’t ever get that close. Amazing birds especially the Macaw.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You must live in a peaceful area

Nah, we had a shooting chase just last week. Luckily, no one was hurt. If you are comparing to places like Detroit or Chicago, then yes, it's way peaceful here.

I'd be really interested to see the sort of art works that the Macaw created. Did you manage to nab any images of that?

Art not being a purely human thing is pretty interesting.

Hindsight on my part. I was in the gift shop too!

I will try to nab a shot of it next time! You are correct about art. It is a fascinating thing across sentient species.

Thanks for the comment back! :)

I did a Master's Degree in Art, and not much was said of "outsider Art" (ie those without a formal Art education) - and the artwork of an animal would be very interesting to look at!

Perhaps we could also call the holes that dugs burrow under fences a form of sculpture? :) I feel like there's so many interesting ways at looking at the universe.

Tell this pufferfish that.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Leonis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @enforcer48! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 19000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64