Flood Season Is Here

in #spring5 years ago (edited)

Spring = flood season in the valley.


I went for a drive this afternoon and took some pictures to share with you all.
18F03A4A-012B-4418-9B0A-43F70D1C0731.jpeg
Field Lake. May take up to 3 weeks to drain.

5E7B94B2-832C-40B5-8A45-A23115202D39.jpeg
Uh oh. Someone forgot their straw bales.

45EC5DCC-55E6-45C1-B5FC-02AE5A797977.jpeg
Well that will be there for awhile.

9E229E58-9D4C-41A6-9ACA-692DDE7B1C68.jpeg
Gravel road turned beach!

88AA9AFC-49D3-44B1-B487-D8A3176B730C.jpeg
Rapids in the mile line ditches.

6E278DC9-B1DA-4C3F-8042-544504F515CE.jpeg
Don’t worry, I worked on my reverse driving here. Can you believe the Big Man will drive in reverse at 60 mph? I was going 20 and thought that was too fast!

3D500292-5BDE-41C2-94BA-06A63F145515.jpeg
Our driveway culvert at one end.

0CC03515-14C5-4FDD-ADF2-D155970010CB.jpeg
Don’t fall in, because I don’t think you’d make it out.

How’s spring going in your neck of the woods?

Sort:  

Wow!! That is some flooding for sure!
Those straw bales will make some good compost though, once you can reach them. :D
Its been a wet rainy season here too. Not much flooding in my neck of the woods, but I hear the local rivers are super high.

It’s gone down tremendously already! I can’t believe how fast water moves.
Thankfully those straw bales aren’t ours. There’s some company down south that will pay farmers for laying down the straw during harvest so they can come bale it and pick it up.

Beach to flood so fast! That must be a bit scary. I had a giggle at the driving part. Such a man thing to do! Shabbat shalom dear @hebrewhousewife

Flood season looks very interesting. I always like the drastic season changes, at least for a week or so. On a positive note, that ditch is flowing and not full of stagnate water. Mine usually become the mosquito land of plenty.

Sometimes I wonder what it would be like to live in a place that experiences each season, without the extreme transitions.. if that place even exists.
Oh yes, when it reaches a certain height, that water takes off! However, throughout most of the summer there is just enough water at the bottom sitting around. Not as bad as a swamp, but I’m sure the bugs still take advantage. I know our dog does!

Now THAT is a lot of water. There is a creek that I drive by that floods from time to time. It took me a little while but I found the post I did last year about this. Please check it out then you see what I am talking about!
https://steemit.com/bwphotocontest/@simms50/the-clouds-opened-up-and-down-came-the-rain-a-whole-lot-of-rain-pictures-included

It’s amazing how much water all that snow adds up to be!

Howdy hebrewhousewife! wow I love these pictures! Great job, they're amazing.
Ya'll don't need no rain for awhile! How long before you need to get in the fields?

No, we sure don’t! The ground is sopping wet. Although, I suppose rain would help with the shrinking.
I tried asking him when, and he keeps answering with “depends”. Lol. My guess? End of May? But if the weather keeps up, they could be starting late next week.

Howdy again hebrewhousewife! More rain would help with the shrinking? You mean to get rid of the snow?
And if it stays dry they could be in the fields by next weekend? dang. I've never seen entire fields look like a lake before, large areas of a field but not the entire field! That was an awesome sight.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75