As Spring Progresses

in #spring6 years ago (edited)

I haven't done a blog in a while about our property.  things have been changing of course as spring is progressing.  Leaves on the trees have all come out and life is looking very different out here. 

A few blogs ago I had gone on to our roof and taken some pictures of our domain.  I have done that again to show the difference from the winter time to now.  So here is the dugout.  It is now dry and it has been dry for a couple of weeks now.  The ducks are not happy about this.  They miss swimming in it.

 Here is the pasture where the goats spend some of the summer.  We also graze them in the front yard and around the dugout.   


So the greenhouse is beside the dugout and it has had some water damage.  We are not able to use it this year. 

The roof is not completely on the back wall so we have decided use the atrium and other places for our tomatoes, cucumbers, kale, peppers and lettuce.  I have had to remove the strawberry patch.  I was able to salvage some of it but not all of it. 

Our Atrium and the new garden.  



Mom's house

This is my mom's house.  She lives out here with us so we can help her with various things.  She is completely off grid as well.  Her house is a traditionaly builtl house with a cement floor. The cement helps her store as much heat in it as possible.  So her house is just behind the earthship.  I am standing on the end of the earthship taking this photo.

Baby update


Here are the baby goats.  They are doing well.  They have begun to eat grass and graze with the rest of the heard.  I am going to begin to milk their mama's Saturday morning.  I will milk the mama's in the morning and the babies will have milk for the rest of the day.  Their mama's are beginning to wean them so no is the perfect time to begin the milking process. 

The baby ducks are not babies any more.  They are almost the size of the adults.  Their mama is the duck standing with the pure white face and chest.  The rest are the ducklings.  

It is hard to get a picture of the baby chicks.  They are still in the brooder and it is a small enclosed space.  They are beginning to get their feathers now.  I don't think you can see that in this picture.  


Sort:  

It's a beautiful homestead. Love seeing the babies. I love the verdant green...ours, here, is already fading to brownish gold, as Summer hits. thank you for sharing your little part of the world.

Thank you so much for stopping by.

Quite my pleasure! Have a beautiful day!

You as well. :)

Amazing nature and domestic animals photography.

Thank you so much for stopping by.

Amazing Blog! I thoroughly enjoyed all of it Carey! Thank-you for taking the time to share that with us 💜 it's amazing that the dugout is bone dry! There's SO much water there this spring. That's nuts. I LOVE looking at your garden. It's so pleasing to witness all that growth! And, the rocks! So good. The babies take the cake though! Your little guys are just the sweetest! I wanna kiss every one of the little young adolescent chicks faces! Haha!! They're adorable. It's always so nice to connect with you! How did your son do on his drivers test?

Thank you so much for your wonderful words. I have been having such a hard time getting blogs off lately. I really apprecate your comments.

Yes the dugout will be dry until next spring. The good news is it is holding water for longer each year so we hope eventually it will be able to hold water one day. If steem goes through the roof like they say then we will buy a liner and that will solve the problem.

Our garden is coming along. I will have get to your blog to see how yours is progressing. The rocks and pieces of wood are to keep the cat from using it as her bathroom box. We are having to cover it every night so she stops doing that.

The babies are what keeps me going. They are so cute. We have another duck that is sitting on some eggs. So in a month to a month and a half we should have more ducklings. We may have more baby goats then as well. We had some gals that are showing signs that they might have kids. It is always changing out here.

My son goes for his test on Monday. I will keep you posted.

Oh! Today is test day. I hope it goes well. And, no biggie if it doesn't. Is your son 16? But, he's not living with you? I am curious about that but I don't want to pry either. Funny how function turns to beauty. Silly kitties!!! The rocks offer minerals to the soil and plants too. Win-win! I love that. I am enjoying the baby geese! Such sweet little fluffs with their protective families guarding them. We live near the Western Irrigation District canal. Bow River water is diverted to the south/ eastern part of the province. It's such a dessert down here! What would you use for a dugout liner? Would bentonite clay work? It's abundant down here in the badlands, but i don't know if you can find it up north.

Yes it was test day. He didn't pass. The guy testing him was pretty picky. We alsoforgot to partice all the parts of parking on a hill. Some things have changed since I took my test. I tried to get on steemit yesterday and I wasn't able to. I did respond to part of this message on discord.

Yes cats are interesting animals. Our cat comes from a previous home and I don't think it was a good place. She is happy here. I am glad that we can provide her a good home in her later years. However her digging up my garden is a point on tension between us.

Geese, I have never been around geese. I hear they can be quite mean. They are cute as babies though. I have heard many stories of geese chasing people.

We would gladly use bentonite clay however finding some here is not easy. That would be our first choice. It is so much more natural. So we would have to get some from the south.

Things do look so different without the snow. Too bad about the greenhouse, but I like the idea that you are using the atrium as a greenhouse. That brings the garden closer to you. Are you able to save enough of the strawberries to get a bit of a crop this year?

Yes it is easier to look after the garden when I am looking at it all the time. When it is in the greenhouse I sometimes forget about it. I like the new way and I am going to find a way to incorporate the greenhouse back in when it is fixed up.

We managed to save about 1/3 of the strawberries. I am sure I will be able to get the crop back up in season or two. I just need to be diligent about the runners that they produce.

Nice to see another update on your environment, your animals and the gardening @carey-page.

Goats have all grown up and looking so healthy and cute.

Nice to see the pictures of your garden and also the greenery besides your house which was all covered up with ice I think about a month back!!

I hope you are having good time gardening and maintaining those animals and birds :)

Yes it all is progressing nicely. We just had a few days of rain so it should all really begin to grow. The babies are all growing up and it is a bit easier to maintain.

Yes just a short time ago it was all covered with snow. I find it facinating how the seasons can change so much. Life seems to come from nothing. That is so not true but it all happens is a short period of time.

Thank you so much for stopping by. I know you are really busy. I am honoured.

Weather seems to be changing fast everywhere, here in India, we are almost into rainy season as most of the states are experiencing rain.

We had rain till 3 days from now, but since last 3 days, it's all bright sky and abundant sun light in contrast to a couple of week's environment.

I think it's right time for farmers to get into some farming as the rain has stopped for now and should be back in some time.

Thanks for the compliments, I am just trying to keep myself busy with that curation and also on commenting.

Yes the weather is changing everywhere. It seems to be the time for change. I often woder what it will be like in 50 years. It is a good thing as humans we are able to adapt.

Keeping busy is good. I imagine between curation and commenting with your work you are probably very busy. Enjoy the day. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95