Second Hand Children and Shocking Re-Adoption Methods

in #spreadtheword7 years ago (edited)

Re-Adoption: The Dark Side

What a disturbing evening I had the other day! I'm not a father, but I was shocked and disgusted to say the least when I saw a documentary on re-adoption. The title of this documentary is in the Dutch language "Wegwerpkinderen" and translates to "Second Hand Children".

The documentary opens with a scene where children are walking on a red carpet, like on a catwalk, showing themselves to a bunch of prospect parents. These events are apparently organised by some organisation(s) to help children to get re-adopted when their adoption parents do not want them anymore.

I understand the positive side of bringing prospect parents and adoption children together, but why in a model as a cat walk? Why not bring the prospect parents and adoption children together and let them mingle, let them have fun together by maybe playing games or something? I find this catwalk thing way below the lowest level of respect I can think of!

Some countries allow adoption parents to get rid of their adoption children. That in fact is not that bad, if you want to qualify it. But what is really bad is the informal markets it created. Through free web services, cheap but shady companies and marketplaces, social media posts unwanted adoption children are on offer. Prospect parents are not qualified; Rules are not followed; Without background checks, children are pushed to their new foster parents.

The documentary shows cases of adoption children pushed towards families having only one goal: Use and Abuse them; Cases of children pushed around through 5 families. This is just SICK!

I'm shocked, disturbed, horrified, appalled!


I feel helpless. I have no idea what I can do to prevent this from happening again and again; How to protect these children from having to experience this kind of life.

What I can do is to speak up! To inform! So here I am!


The Documentary

The interviews in the documentary are all in English; The storyline teller is however speaking in the Dutch language. I've included a Google translate of the transcript below the video. Even without the transcript most of it speaks for itself and the importants parts are in English language.

The Video

Video here

The Transcript

Transcript here

Credits

The documentary is produced by the highly credible and respected TV program "Zembla" and aired by the Dutch independent television channel NPO.

Spread The Word


follow me @edje

Sort:  

Thank You for the Love; Spread the Word please, especially to those who consider adoption, or who work for the government/law enforcement, and anybody else.

What the actual.. wha-whaaat. Oh it hurts so much.
Should've not read it. Poor kids.
Well everything possible in this sick world.. So not even surprised :|

This things are even more made possible when the law allows parents to give adoption children to new parents. Then a whole industry is created, and with such industry also the shady industry to bypass costs. It makes it more difficult to control and enforce. This is allowed in many states in the USA, unfortunately.

Question is - what can we do about it??
Well.. at least i'm sure that when i stop being lone wolf and decide to have a child i will go and adopt a kid (decided it long time ago).
I was always wondering why people hurry to give birth to children when there are so many in orphanages.
So here you go -1 orphan in the world on me. Maybe if we unite there will be less kids who seek family? Ofcourse it's just a wish. Eh.
World is still sick.

World is indeed sick. And the thing is that we need to be reminded on it, I for one didn't really realise these kind of things happened. But that is kind of closing the eyes. Not consciously, but it happens anyway. What we can do is to reach out to families who give children for adoption; Inform them never to use shade companies, but use the appropriate channels. Then the risk of children being hurt will be lower; I think at least. The new parents must be qualified of they are the right family to adopt a child. I for sure know I will talk about this topic with friends and other people around me and will ask them to spread the word. That is I think the only thing we can do. The other thing that we can do is to convince the government to change laws. I think my government does not allow re-adoption. That is something I need to check. I know that this documentary made an impact in our news, several popular magazines did write about this documentary.

Man, hope it will be resolved :(

This is just wrong on so many levels and it needs to stop now.
I hope and pray for a better future for these kids.

I really do as well!

upvoted followed please do the same friend

OMG I am speechless what I read so far. What's wrong with our humanity? Geesus!

Yes indeed!! Those who want to have NO RULES, NO GOVERNMENT, NO ENFORCEMENT and FOREMOST a ABSOLUTELY FREE MARKET need to rethink and provide solutions for this.

I absolutly agree that we need to implement more and enforced laws for such criminals

Let the anarchist here at Steemit not read/hear that.
I want to promote this to them, but Steemit.Chat is out-of-service!
Thanks for your supportive comments.

Most of them only reed and vote their own posts 😜

LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79