You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spread the Love Contest - Introducing a New Steemian

Good post. Thanks for entering me. And you're spot on. No two human beings are identical (except identical twins, and even then), so with billions upon billions of possible configurations, why does Western culture limit us to two genders and three sexual orientations? That's never made sense to me. Good luck on the contest. I hope we win.

Sort:  

You're most welcome for the entry @t-lab... I'm keeping my fingers crossed :) Welcome to steem and I have followed you so hopefully I'll catch some of your posts on my feed.

No two human beings are identical (except identical twins, and even then), so with billions upon billions of possible configurations, why does Western culture limit us to two genders and three sexual orientations?

Difficult question to be honest. I'm pretty sure it is a combination of many things. Perhaps societal pressure to conform, i.e. the tendency of humans (as a collective) to follow 'the norm'. Also, that it's almost hard wired into us to be a competing species. With tribal identity come objectification, as it is part of the whole structure of that tribal 'nationalistic' mentality to need someone else to label as other. This attitude and modality has been happening for thousands of years and this has caused it to be embedded in the collective unconscious.

Ha ha, that's all just my personal view though. Many people would probably read that and say it was utter nonsense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38