My Round 1 Fantasy Draft Pick at the 5th position. WIN a $0.40 Upvote for Your Opinion Contest.

in #spots6 years ago (edited)

31713976-right-and-wrong-decision-sign.jpg

Did I make the right decision?

I was number 5 in my fantasy football draft and right off the bat, I had a critical decision to make. I knew that the first 3 or 4 picks will be the top running back studs and there was a good chance I might have a shot at Antonio Brown or a pretty good running back. My initial strategy was to take Brown, but when it came time to choose, I pulled the trigger on Alvin Kamara. My thought process was if I did not select a RB in the 1st round, I might not get a starting RB from any team since I would have to wait until the 20th pick. As it turned out, I picked up Devonta Freeman in the 2nd round with a couple of mid-level RBs still available.

So the big questions is, did I make the right decision? I have no regrets with my picks for rounds 1 & 2, but I would love to hear your feedback and thought process of what your decisions would have been if you were in my shoes.

Draft picks for Rounds 1 - 6:

Steemit4Ever Fantasy 2018 - Round 1-3.JPG
Steemit4Ever Fantasy 2018 - Round 4-6.JPG

There will be 2 comments below:

  1. “Yes, you made the right decision”
  2. “No, you made the wrong decision."

How to submit your entry to this contest:

  1. Upvote the post (I will donate all the liquid post payout to the prize pool of STEEMIT4EVER league)
  2. Upvote one of my "yes" or "no" comments
  3. Reply with comments of what you would have done and why
  4. Re-STEEM is appreciated but not necessary

How the winner will be determined:

At the end of the season, I will analysis the fantasy performance to Antonio Brown vs Alvin Kamara on a week by week basis. Each player will be awarded 1 point for outscoring his opponent each week. The player with the most wins will represent the correct answer. Hopefully neither one of these players will get hurt, but if it does happen for a long period of time, then the non-injured player will obviously win the contest.

Prize:

At the end of the season or if a player gets hurt for a long period of time and the contest is over, I will randomly select 1 winning upvote that included comments. That person will be notified and will receive a $0.40 upvote from Treeplanter bot.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you have a blast this season.

Follow me for more contests and posts to raise money for the prize pool of STEEMIT4EVER fantasy football league 2018.

Right/Wrong Decision Image Source

Sort:  

Yes, I made the right decision

... because he can catch those passes AND run for the yards, good choice.

I hope he has the same if not better production than last year.

NFL highest score contest #3 is up. Come test your prediction skills for a chance to win 1 STEEM.
https://steemit.com/sports/@mellofello/highest-scoring-nfl-game-contest-3-prize-is-a-1-steem-upvote

I think you definitely made the right decision.

I really wanted to draft a RB early, but just didn't like my options when it got to me. Dropoff is pretty big once you get past the starters who get lots of touches, so getting an elite is really good I think.

Exactly, I was told to go for AB if i had the opportunity in the first round unless one of the top 3 RBs were available, but I felt if I didn't get a good RB for the 5th pick, then there might not be any RB talents remaining when my 20th pick came back around. I'm looking forward to seeing how my contest will play out between AK vs AB.

No, I made the wrong decision.

would you be interested in joining a Steemit Fantasy league?

@liberty-minded My head says no because I already belong to 2 Steemit leagues and 1 league at work, but my heart is curious haha. What are the details? Do u have discord? You can DM me to discuss details. My discord name is the same as Steemit.

I would've reached down and gotten barkley from the NYG or at least melvin gordon. there is absolutely no way kamara will uphold his fantasy value from last year, it never happens. Brees will have too many targets again this year. Only thing that might help is having ingram on the bench for the first four games. that should give his stat line a nice boost but I think his final #'s will be nothing close to his break-out performance last year.

this is all assuming you're in a standard league, not a PPR, since you didn't mention that. Either way, I'd still take barkley over kamara, that kid is gonna be nasty this year and we all know Eli couldn't the side of a barn with a football when it matters so they'll certainly be a run-heavy offense this year. OBJ is fading and unless shepard steps up big time this year, it'll be up to barkley and engram to hold them down. barkley will be this year's kareem hunt - #maybe?

I'm sitting at pick #10 this year in my main league, didn't like it at first but after a TON of mock drafts I'm quite happy with that position. being in the middle of the pack at #5 (if you're in a 10 team league) is shitty, even in a 12 team league. gotta make those 1st two picks count for sure!

You made a great case for Barkley. Had I read your in-depth analysis prior to the draft, I might have considered him. One main reason I chose Kamara was because I watch a few Saints games and the kid is amazing. Secondly, Ingram is out for 4 games so I am hoping Kamara will put up big numbers for me to start off the season.

Thanks for the detailed feedback. I am loving all these different opinions.

hell I wish I could pick him up at 10 but that'll never happen. I'll likely have something like J Jones, D Hopkins, K Hunt, D Cook......I'll always go RB for my first two, I have that luxury at least with a late pick. At 5, you're looking at Kamara or Barkley rd 1, rd 2 possibly McAffrey, Howard, Freeman.......Mac is gonna kill it this year I think, Howard is on his way out....Cohen will show him up this year, Freeman isn't a bad option either, he gets the rock and Ryan isn't who he was a few years ago so don't expect much in the air....they'll feed him for sure, but Coleman does steal some goal line snaps from him tho

Wrong decision. In a PPR league you pick the best WR. Not sure how good Al will be. Only has a year in the books

For my sake, I hope they both excel this year, except when the the Steelers play he Saints.

NFL highest score contest #3 is up. Come test your prediction skills for a chance to win 1 STEEM.
https://steemit.com/sports/@mellofello/highest-scoring-nfl-game-contest-3-prize-is-a-1-steem-upvote

you made the wrong decision.... :P ... when given a chance there is 2 picks... 1 is antonio brown and 2 is leveon bell... So while your guy is good, you will miss catching the best wr and overall player in the game. :D

Would you happen to Steelers fan by any chance? Lol

hahaha... how could you tell Andy? :P

You just planted 0.12 tree(s)!


Thanks to @mellofello

We have planted already 3322.91 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 24449.39
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Looks like its you and me week 1 :D

You really can't go wrong with Kamara but in a ppr league I would have taken AB at 5 for sure, since he was available, but Kamara was definitely after.

Hey @enahsgeaux. Thanks for stopping by. I was wondering who was "Chris's Choice Team". I just looked at your lineup and we look like a good match for week 1. I think you have a slight advantage according to Yahoo. I like that you have you Eagles on your roster; dats ma team, yet i have no Eagles on my roster, haha.

Best of luck this season.

I'm not chris choices team, I am who stank?. Are you now Show me the quan?

Haha, you made a haiku. I love this bot.

hahah yeah that is hilarious.

I'm not chris choices
Team, I am who stank?. Are you
Now Show me the quan?

                 - enahsgeaux


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Oh haha. I was mixed up with my other league. Yes, I am showmethequan. Oh man, who stank is a tougher team than Chris’s choice. Now I wish you were Chris’s Choice, lol.

Yeah its going to be fun, we are in both leagues together

Yeah I think there may be one or two others in both leagues? Do u have any other leagues besides Steemit? I have a big one at work that just drafted last night. It was just a so so draft.
7167A4FF-7001-4733-B093-14DC2423D5A0.jpeg

NFL highest score contest #3 is up. Come test your prediction skills for a chance to win 1 STEEM.
https://steemit.com/sports/@mellofello/highest-scoring-nfl-game-contest-3-prize-is-a-1-steem-upvote

you received an up vote from danlupi with voting power of 96.57%. Estimated dollar amount of $1.14

You got a 31.48% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @mellofello!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01