Dustin Poirier: 'B*tch' Eddie Alvarez Used ‘Veteran Move’ to End UFC 211 Bout

in #sportsteem7 years ago

Dustin Poirier speaks to Ariel Helwani on The MMA Hour about Eddie Alvarez vs. Justin Gaethje, wanting a rematch with Alvarez, the lightweight division, and much more.

Not sure Dustin has the right to call Eddie a bitch.

Sort:  

Wow. Amazing interview. Hard for me to NOT say Dustin Poirier is my favorite fighter after that.

Let's hope the UFC lets all those dominoes fall in the Lightweight division... and fast!

I hope so too man, its for sure the most exciting division right now, we just need the champ back and it's gonna heat up.

BTW, I'm not sure he actually said "Veteran move" in the interview. Did he?

I'm pretty sure he did, I don't think I have it in me to listen back to the whole thing again tho. haha

Hmm, Dustin Poirier always came off as an angry person to me, just going off of his post-fight interviews as of late. Sure that was probably heat of the moment stuff. Seeing more of him though, he seems like just a confident guy, but also a good dude.

I'd like to see the rematch with Edward (haha) Alvarez, personally. There's history there now and I think they need to resolve it. 👊

Yeah for sure man, that's a rematch that needs to happen asap, it was a great fight up untill all that mess.

It looked fishy already when I saw it for the first time. Seasoned guy like Alvarez does not do that by accident. He wanted out of that fight and made it happen. Probably not consciously even, just some little devil pulling the strings.

Nah, I don't think it was on purpose tbh. By that time in the fight, those guys were tired, and Alvarez was just probably just going by habit (maybe related to your "not consciously" comment, puukallistaja). He was kneeing Porier, and being tired, it was like second nature for him to keep hitting his opponent. Again, just my opinion based on what I saw.

Replay of the knee and post fight interview, if anyone is interested. Even more respect for Porier after watching this again. Guy seems like a good dude. Sounds like both want the rematch, so hopefully it'll be sooner than later.

I hope we get to see it, sooner rather than later, two of the toughest dudes in the division.

Do you think? I'm not sure if it's his character if you know what I mean.

Yeah. Alvarez is a badass, but that was intentional. He has been drilling in that position for hundreds of hours. You do not even need to see the guy to know he is a downed opponent, you can feel it. If you wrestle, you can probably relate. You know your opponents position just as well as your own. One could give him the benefit of the doubt for the first two knees (the good ole' touch-the-floor-to-play-the-system game), but the third was outrageous.

That said, Eddie had been seriously hurt just minutes before. Maybe he did not have all his senses together. I hope it was this, cus, like I said, he is a warrior and a martial artist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52