Sevilla's Disgrace: Joris Gnagnon

in #sportstalk5 years ago (edited)

With Liverpool currently on their American leg of the pre-season tour, I had to stay up late last night to watch the game against Sevilla.

I don't mind. I'll find any excuse to watch the Reds.

But once I'd tuned in I found myself raising my eyebrows a few times at the way in which the Sevilla players were approaching the game.

Pre-season friendly games are a chance for both teams to get some much-needed fitness into the legs and to give a few fringe players the opportunity to show their worth.

This has certainly been the case for Liverpool who are still without some of their main players. Salah, Firmino, Mane, and Alisson, for example, are still recovering from busy summers with their respective national teams.

Nevertheless, it's always interesting to see how other players get on. Of course, it was a big challenge out there last night because it was 34 degrees Celcius with extremely high levels of humidity. Scheduled breaks were put in place to help rehydrate players and keep things safe.

Yet, Sevilla were intent to ramp up the temperature on the pitch by playing some of the most aggressive pre-season friendly football I've ever seen. It was like watching a rugby match at times.

Banega took it upon himself to elbow Wilson, but the worst incident in the match was a disgraceful tackle by Gnagon on Larouci that could have easily broken his leg. This wasn't a football tackle, it was as close to GBH as you're going to see on a football pitch.

I can't for the life of me understand why Sevilla took this approach. Some have suggested that they wanted to have a pop at the European Champions, but half of those players weren't even on the pitch.

One thing is for sure; Liverpool will never play a pre-season friendly against Sevilla again. I am thankful that they didn't derail our season by injuring key players. If they ever find themselves in the Champions League again, I hope we come up against them so we can give them something to think about.

Sort:  

I could not agree more. And this is pre-season for crying out loud!! I have a theory about it though. I think that in some teams (perhaps in Sevilla as well) where pecking order amongst players need to be established. Rather then taking it out on eachother, they choose to show how tough they are on their opponents. Sevillla should make an example out of these players and fine them. thoughts welcome. Upvoted and follow. I love football and just posted on it myself. it would be cool if you could check it out and give me feedback. Any wise words would be more than welcome!

That's not a bad theory. It's a shame because it was a good occasion that turned sour quickly. Sevilla will have to deal with Liverpool not wanting to play against them in friendly games from now on.

football has become more cynical. no doubt about it. I can understand that Liverpool will not engage with sevilla in friendlies going forward. On the positive side, we can look forward to new talent bursting onto the scene. Sounds like it is happening at Liverpool. exciting stuff!

Was a card produced for that shocker?

Straight red, thankfully. Awful tackle in any game, never mind a pre-season friendly against an 18 year old left back!

Good. Violent conduct for sure, and a club fine should be issued.

I sure hope so. Was a really thing to do in a friendly match!

Well. That was a well deserved red card if I should say... It wasn't a wrestling ring

I hate games in this period, when you face teams like Liverpool everyone wants to win even if it's a friendly match, the game gets tough and you risk injury.

Yep, it's always a worry before the season starts!

I didn't watch the game but reading comments on the match I see the player was rootless

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71315.89
ETH 3677.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76