Sports Betting Money Management Done Right

in #sportstalk4 years ago

sports-betting-basketball.jpg

As most of you already know, the NBA restarted the 2019 – 2020 regular season at the end of July, after a four-month hiatus.

What we have seen so far is nothing short of spectacular: high-scoring games, outstanding individual performances, not to mention competitiveness at an all-time high with many showdowns down to the wire.

The 2020 NBA Restart also posed intriguing opportunities for all sports bettors around the world. While there is much more unpredictability compared to the traditional NBA format – there is no travelling, no home-court advantage, no distractions – with proper money management, you can still turn a profit if you wager on the NBA games played in Orlando.

Before the restart, I began a partnership with a brand-new site called IPSBL focused mainly on the NBA & NFL news plus FREE NBA & NFL picks.

For the time being, I provide the platform with some of my daily NBA picks & I want to share with you my thinking process and how I approach sports betting, in general.

Every day, you will see on the homepage some of my picks broken down into what I call systems. A system is a set of wagers that have a similar structure & money management.

To better understand, I currently have a bunch of systems all listed below:

Straight UP System – a single wager that has is considered to be 50/50, in other words has around 50% chances of succeeding. The odds are usually around 1.84/-119 up to 1.95/-105 decimal/American.

Double Down System – a double accumulator wager that will double your money. Each of the two bets combined have odds around 1.4/-250 up to 1.5/-200 decimal/American.

Trifecta System – a triple accumulator wager that will more or less triple your initial bet. Each of the three bets combined have odds around 1.4/-250 up to 1.5/-200 decimal/American, sometimes even higher.

Four-Way System – a four-wager accumulator that will more or less quadruple your initial bet. Each of the three bets combined have odds around 1.4/-250 up to 1.5/-200 decimal/American, sometimes even higher.

Value Bet System – a special single wager that I consider to have much better chances of succeeding than the odds fixed by the bookmaker. It’s a very risky bet with odds that go over 3.0/200 decimal/American.

Each day, every day, I post two or three wagers that are part of one of my systems above.

To optimize the winnings as much as possible and minimize the loses – bad stretches will happen, remember it’s a game of probability, at the end of the day – I will reveal to you – exclusively on Steemit I might add – how I approach each system in terms of money management.

We start with a generic 100 units. It’s up to you to give actual value to those units, but remember, DO NOT WAGER MONEY YOU CANNOT AFFORD TO LOSE! This is not an exact science by any means.

  • Each time I place a Straight UP wager, I invest 10 units or 10% of my initial bankroll.
  • Each time I place a Double Down wager, I invest 5 units or 5% of my initial bankroll.
  • Each time I place a Trifecta wager, I invest 3 units or 3% of my initial bankroll.
  • Each time I place a Four-Way wager, I invest 1.5 units or 1.5% of my initial bankroll.
  • Each time I place a Value Bet, the investment varies and is based on the actual odds (e.g. with 3.0/200 plus odds, I usually put at risk 3 units or 3% of my initial bankroll).

Now, the results.

From Day 1 of the 2020 NBA Restart, on July 30, 2020 to August 10, 2020 (included) I placed 29 total wagers – singles or accumulated worth a total of 181.5 units.

From the total, only 14 or over 48% of them were winners. Even though I am below 50%, I managed to turn a profit of 26.152 units good for a ROI of 14.41%.

Breaking down the systems:

  • My Straight-UP wagers were the most successful with a 70% rate of success (7 winners out of 10 tries) and an ROI of 35%.
  • My Double Down wagers were a standstill with a 50% rate of success (6 winners out of 12 tries) but still an ROI of 5.09%
  • My Trifecta (0 wins out of 3 tries) and Four-Way (0 wins but just 1 try) wagers were all misses, therefore the ROI in both cases was -100%.
  • Additionally, I succeeded once (1) out of 3 attempts with my value bets – total investment: 11 units, lost 1.4 units in the process (-12.73% ROI).

Will try to update you every step of the way as the NBA turns another page and enters playoff mode. If you want to check my NBA picks, be sure to check IPSBL daily. All my picks will go live before the start of each NBA gameday.

Have fun everyone.

Sort:  

Good day. When it comes to sports betting, proper money management is key to long-term success. To increase your chances of winning, it's crucial to set a budget and stick to it. Avoid chasing losses and never bet more than you can afford to lose. Additionally, diversifying your bets and focusing on value rather than sheer odds can be beneficial. For Zambian bettors seeking valuable information and resources, I recommend checking out 1xbet-zm-review.org. They offer a wealth of insights and details tailored specifically for Zambian bettors, helping you make informed decisions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23