VAR FInally comes back to bite Tottenham

in #sportstalk5 years ago (edited)

It was a big game. 3 points would get Tottenham to second place ahead of the other games . Pochettino rested Aurier and Danny Rose for this occasion. He knew Leicester are the new slash old kids on the block. Rodgers has transformed an ageing team into a young talented fast paced outfit. Poch named Gazzinga in goal due to the birth of Loris's child. He also dropped Erikson which was coming due to his poor performances over the past 3 games.
Spurs went 1 nil up against the run of play by a freak shot taken by Kane while he was falling over. It was a great goal but could only be scored by an expert goal poacher. Fortunately Kane was the guy the original ball fell to. Leicester were still having chances but they just could not put it in the net. The turning point of the match was when Song passed it to Aurier who took a shot and scored. VAR was subsequently called in to look at whether Song was offside. Here is what it was looking at.
Screenshot_20190921144739_Twitter.jpg
Now Tottenham have had a great run at the old VAR so what goes around comes around. It was about time we were at the wrong end of a decision but this one seems very marginal. If you even look at the photo you can see there was maybe a millimetre in the difference if any at all. I just found the decision ridiculous. Even if I am not a Spurs supporter I would find it insane.
The rest is history. Spurs being Spurs never recovered and Leicester went on to win 2-1. Disgraceful scenes here in Portugal watching it. The bar is wrecked and the Londoners are now on their way to the next bar.

Sort:  

The Difference is Very Very Less I Don't Know How to Take That...

The Difference is
Very Very Less I Don't
Know How to Take That...

                 - abbasuet5780


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I watched the match, from my own point of view the Tottenham player was in offside owing to his arm though very difficult to observe

Tottenham was really a victim of VAR today because that ball was an ONSIDE but refree decision was the final, they should just accept it and move on so far it has once been on their side

We call that ball hairs. There is nothing in that and can see loads more coming this season. what you up to in Portugal.

I start reading your post and then I stopped
cause I want to write mine.
Great game from both teams.
VAR is the winner some how.
kudos!

They benefited so well from referees blowing in their favour I think it's fair they lost this one, the new VAR is setting things straight up.

Tottenham play well but Leicester will. I watch the game and it was very hard. I expect Tottenham to come back or play draw but everything work against them. This will be the advantages for Arsenal tommorow.

VAR was subsequently called in to look at whether Kane was offside.

Clearly you had a couple of pints to take the bitter edge off after VAR cucked spurs. 😁😁😁

That is clearly Heung Min Son, with his nasal hairs clearly putting him offside.

Correct decision by VAR.

Nice observation on both fronts. I was trying to keep it secret because it was a 1230 start

Haha.. I will be on a couple for the game against West Ham. It is going to be rough but at least I will be too wasted to put my foot through the tv.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is football and we need to accept. It's true that to concede two goals every game it's difficult to win like this. Until 80 minutes I think we were the best team on the pitch.

I think in both sides affected in that situation. After 80 minutes with the second goal the game is going to be over but you give the massive belief to the team who was already dead, I think we had some chances to score the second goal. The Premier League is the most beautiful league because you can never stop to be focused.

Big picture, long term I am disappointed but very positive.

Yepbyou win some and you lose some . We have had a great run with VAR

Nice patient passing from Leicester as they work their way up the pitch. It's great approach play, a little cross from Pereira gives Barnes a chance to head at goal but he puts it over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57530.32
ETH 2439.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37