Solo Paddle

What is a sport? How do you define it? I know that growing up everything from swimming to soccer to hockey for me was a sport because there was competition involved. It was important to win in some way and be better than others. As I grew up my preference of sport changed and now I embrace diving, paddling and hiking as a sports. There is a lot less competition in those.

Solo Paddle-1.jpg

What’s you definition? How and why do you embrace the sport of your choosing?

Scott

For more images and stories - http://www.scottstevensonphotography.ca/

Sort:  

Sport is what's real to you. What makes you feel in a war. One of the thinks that drives you. That's what sport is to me.

Hi Scott,
Can I ask you a question? You have beautiful photography and I see that you have won a LOT of photo contests. Congratulations!! I just won one of Julian's contests. However, I don't know how to find out which picture won. If you read this, could you please tell me how to find out.

Congrats on winning, I'm glad you did! As for finding out what categories you win in, go to your wallet page and see what you won for and then click on that category. Once it appears then scroll through all the enteries and yours should be listed there. Good luck with future contests and I will follow your progress. Thanks for checking out my work.

For me, your sports are difficult although I admire you for practicing them and enjoying them. For my part I enjoy see it you perform them and just i will jog...Greetings

sports to me is finding something that gives you pleasure and fun other than work

Great definition! Then I can just sit in the couch knitting on a sweater and watch TV and call that a sport ;)

True that. When my students ask me if darts is a sport in my opinion. I always answere with no, although it is really hard to be the best.

Sport is any competition of skill with others or with yourself. I think people confuse athletics as the only form sport, but we can make competition from almost anything.

A sport is anything that gets your heart rate going to me. So things like paddling definitely count. I think some people only consider "team sports" to be sports sometimes but that isn't true for me!

Hiking is one hell of a sport :).

I totally agree! Hiking is definitely a sport...

That is an amaziiiing capture, would love to get more pictures like this in future, keep up the good work mate.

Yeah, nice posts and nice Pictures @scottdphoto
Like you do a lot of things in photography.
Amazing, i like that 👍👏

Oftentimes only things that are physical and team-oriented are considered sports, but really anything that is a competition where you constantly strive to do better than others/yourself/nature is a type of sport.
Even photography can be a sport! It may not have points that are allotted by a judge or referee, but some days you just have fun shooting, and some days you actually win!

As a Martial Arts I have often came across this question myself. To me Martial Arts are a "sport" because we are training our bodies while embracing the contact and more physically demanding parts of it.

I embrace Karate, Taijutsu, and my Sword Arts because they give me a chance to seek a balance. A balance that may help me to be stronger. Whether this be mentally or physically I become transformed thru the experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88