Sort:  

Actually it was well written, I understand the idea behind the words you used, not mentioning it had a dose of humour included.
The issue is different.
In fact, there was a time, when I was truly interested in Wing Tsun as a form of martial art. However, basing on my experience, I do not find it to be effective enough.
Just imagine fighting with a boxer, who additionally weights more. One punch and it is all over.
I do appreciate the estethics and theoretical aspects of Wing Tsun, but it is hard for me to believe, that it can serve as a wepon against a skillful opponent and unfortunately, most of us train something nowadays.

I can relate to what you are saying. I have seen numerous Wing Tsun classes and if I attended I would feel the same way. It's not just about finding the right art it is about finding the right teacher as well. I preferred traditional Wing Chun over modified Wing Tsun for numerous reasons mainly the footwork. If your on a train track and the train is coming you can pivot all day long but in the end the train is going to crush you! Traditional Wing Chun uses footwork that gets you off the line of force. In my old school we had open fight nights so martial arts from all styles could come test skills. It was loads of fun and there was something I constantly noticed. Everyone outside of our school left shaking their head saying we got to fix something and fast. We all left saying glad I know Wing Chun!

'Traditional Wing Chun uses footwork that gets you off the line of force.'

  • I believe this requires a lot of skill. Honestly, the idea seems to require a high dose of precision and I doubt that one can perseve this much of control over the situation when it comes to a real fight and the level of 'chaos' involved.

On the other hand

'Everyone outside of our school left shaking their head saying we got to fix something and fast. We all left saying glad I know Wing Chun!'

  • I have no reason not to believe you and I understand that you cannot include all the positive aspects of this style in one article.
    The best way test it, would be for me to try it myself.

Wish you all the best with your school!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63862.88
ETH 2754.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64