Boston Celtics harder to defend than Golden State Warriors?

in #sports7 years ago

At least according to Cleveland Cavaliers head coach, Tyronn Lue. 

He means when they have a healthy Isaiah Thomas playing, right?

Nope.

He means the Boston Celtics as currently constructed are more difficult to defend than the Golden State Warriors.

I have heard some whoppers in my day, but this one might be near the top of the list...

Here was his reasoning:

"The stuff they’re running, it’s harder to defend than Golden State’s offense for me, as far as the actions and all the running around and all the guys who are making all the plays, so it’s a totally different thing."
"Like, they hit the post, Golden State runs splits and all that stuff but these guys are running all kinds of stuff."
"And Brad Steven's got them moving and cutting and playing with pace and everybody is a threat."

I guess you can kinda sorta maybe see where he is coming from... but c'mon man?! Harder to defend than the record setting Golden State Warriors?

I get wanting to show respect to your opponent so that you didn't give them any extra motivation, but this seems to be taking it to another level.

Also, I guarantee you that Golden State just put this press clipping up in their locker room as motivation...

Upon hearing this, I would not be surprised if Golden State implements a few new surprises on offense soon to be awaiting Cleveland when they meet in the next round. Oops. 

What do you guys think, any way this is possible?

Resource (including picture):

http://www.nba.com/article/2017/05/24/cleveland-cavaliers-coach-tyronn-lue-boston-celtics-harder-defend-golden-state

I am the: @voiceofreason

Sort:  

I'm glad I came across your post ! I also had the same reaction when Tyronn Lue said what he said about Boston and the Warriors. Like you said, this may be motivation for Golden State! I will start following you. Thanks!

Think Boston can win another game first?

Lmao

Know what I'm sayin?!

LOL what the hell Tyron... I can't wait for this series.

I will be watching tonight, but I think it may be the last game for Boston this season.

In all likelihood, it will but it's been fun watching 'em scrap! Who ya got in the finals?

Warrios beat the Cavs in 7 games. I would say 6 games but the NBA wants the drama and the revenue!

I'm going GS as well. Too much firepower, when they're on they're impossible to stop.

no man you don't understand, the Warriors may have started 12-0 and scored 118 PPG... um... hmm...

all right, all right, let's try this again - no man you just don't get it; sure the Warriors may have already had an offense running the fastest pace in the league, scoring the most points in the league, but all they did this offseason was add Kevin Durant... um... hmm...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82