US Vegan Weight Lifter Crushes US Records.

in #sports8 years ago


Vegan Powered Record Breaker

Kendrick Farris is a vegan weightlifter competing in Rio Olympics. He happens to be the only male weightlifter on the US team competing in Rio Olympics. Did I mention he is a vegan? Lifting 800lbs during the Olympic trials Kendrick broke the U.S record. I am happy to share this because have been a life long vegetarian and weightlifter. It's all about genetics, squats, and willpower.

Sort:  

Wonder if he eats real food or just supplement concoctions.

I am sure it is a mixture. The most important thing is to eat a lot of calories. I am sure his metabolism is insane. One of the best ways to trigger testosterone from my research is full core power lifts and or sprinting. I believe it triggers a fight or flight response which encourages testosterone production. I could be wrong. I am curious where he gets his cholesterol because if I am not mistaken it is an important precursor to it. Although from a report I did about 10 years ago, I found a source saying T levels are a few percentage points higher in vegans and vegetarian than omnivores. I can't say much for that source I used, but I remember he referenced Carl Lewis a lot who was another famous vegetarian Olympian.

I feel that Carl Lewis is a bad example because he did test positive for a banned substance prior to the 1988 Olympics but they swept it under the rug and said it was inadvertent use. But then Ben Johnson got nailed and they gave the gold to Carl for the 100. It was a weird turn of events. I guess I'm trying to say that Carl Lewis really can't be looked at as an example. Now Kendrick here looks like a beast and this is interesting to me that he was able to do this as a Vegan. I have always felt like a person would have to consume so much to get the required protein that way. Thanks for posting!

Well, I was 1 when Carl won the gold. @rekt was right in me being influenced by the 5x5 workout. Being a vegetarian my whole life and lifting the last 10 years, i believe the key is in the type of lifts you do and the amount you eat. The body can only absorb so much protein, so eat it frequently, but the carbs are where the power comes from. Vegan's get a ton of carbs :) At my best I was cranking out 1.25x to 1.75x 5 sets of 5 at my bodyweight at 195lbs. and I am 6'3". Most the time this was on a very low protein diet. Mostly fiber.

Yeah, that sound familiar. 5 x 5?

Also indicates that quality of the meat in USA due to industrial farming practices + GMO feed is very bad.

Yeah, I was glad to see this. So much for that old protein excuse.

Very impressive, I am consistently blown away by the amazing athletes proving everything is possible with plants #EatLikeAnElephant
Also just an fyi I made a Plant-Based chat channel for Steemit Chat: https://steemit.chat/channel/plant-based :)

Did he clean and press 800lbs? That would be insane!

It is over multiple lifts.

Genetics go a long way.

This is bad ass! :)

Chom chom chom chom.

Wow, everyone thanks for the support! I glad to know there is a strong group of vegan supporters on Steemit! Consumption of meat is not necessarily unnatural or wrong, but our current practices are very harmful to the environment. That is the main reason I am happy to see this awareness being publicized on the global stage.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45