Anything Is Possible! Tennis 2017 - French Open Women Champion

in #sports7 years ago

French Open champion Jelena Ostapenko believes "anything is possible" with the all-out attacking style which brought her a first Grand Slam title.

ostapenko2.jpg

The Latvian, 20, hit 5 winners on her way to a "dream" 4-6 6-4 6-3 win over Romanina's Simona Halep.

She said "I always had the possibility I could hit the ball earlly hard, "said Ostapenko. "If I have a chance to go for a shot, I'm trying."

She is the first unseeded woman to win the French Open since 1933.

It was only her eight appearance at one of the four tennis majors, the fewest by a champion since Maria Sharapova won Wimbledon in 2004.

ostapenko3.jpg

"Nobody taught me, it's just the way I play," said Ostapenko. "And also I think my character is like that. I want to really hit the ball."

Ostapenko beat Olympic champion Monica Puig, former finalist Sam Stosur, former number one Caroline Wozniacki and two-time semi-finalist Timea Bacsinszky on her way to the final.

But it was not until the closing moments of her win over third seed Halep, the 2014 runner-up, that the Latvian contemplated winning the title.

"I think I was up in the third set 5-3, then I realised I can win the match," she said. "Not before that. I was just taking it step by step."

Having earned a total of £1m in her professional career before Roland Garros, Ostapenko, who turned 20 on Thursday, will take home £1.65m for Saturday's victory.

Never let anything stop who you want to be!

Anything Is Possible!

Go get it!

Sort:  

An inspiring victory and definitely one to watch for the future. Halep has a history of choking at the final for some reason.

It's also going to he interesting to see how Serena comes back from her maternity break...if she decides to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55