The Sports Nerd Blog Returns....

in #sports6 years ago

So much to discuss, so much in the news, I really don’t know where to start. I have been out of the loop in regards to the blogging world these days. Outside of The Sports Nerds, I really haven’t posted or spoke about the sports world lately. I don’t know what I have been waiting for, and to be honest, maybe I am just lazy. But I have a lot going on in this scattered old brain of mine, and as a friend once told me.. Just write.. so here goes..

I use music to try and get motivated, From classics in the 60’s to more recent hits in the 90’s and 2000’s (any music after that isn’t music to me) I usually have Amazon Music on, with earbuds in my ears, trying to find the motivation and the words in my head to put them down in a blog post. You see, I have a lot to say, I just don’t have the time or motivation to start typing. I usually just come home, put a show on the Netflix or Amazon video and wait for Sunday Night to express my thoughts on the sports world. Tonight, I have Amazon music on, playing my “Kick-Ass” playlist and trying to put my thoughts together in order to express what I am thinking….

I am a Browns fan… I am an Indians Fan… I am a Buccaneer Fan (to a point).. I am a Lightning Fan (that’s NHL to those uneducated)… I am an OSU Buckeye fan… I hate the NBA… I hate Futbal (Soccer) and I won’t apologize for any of it. I call myself “The Sports Nerd”, because I love the emotion, the stress, the excitement, and the unknown of all sports. It truly is a wonderful genre, and those that are not sports fans will never know the feeling of living and dying with your favorite spots teams. It truly is a wonderful and terrifying experience all wrapped up in a little bow that can be opened not just at Christmas but 365 days a year. You see… I live and bleed as my sports teams go, whether it be “The Drive” against the Browns in 1984 or “The Fumble”, the sweet victory of the Bucs winning the Super Bowl in 2003, The Lightning winning The Stanley Cup in 2004, Cleveland losing the Browns in 1995, to getting them back in 1999 to the Indians losing the world Series in 1995, 1997 & 2016, it doesn’t matter, I will stick with my teams until I am dead. The old adage of sport is “the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat”, words I have lived since the 70’s when I was old enough tot understand the excitement sports can bring, as well as the pain it can bring.

With that being said… Let’s go and discuss recent events in the sports world.. the last couple of weeks thus far specifically…

The Tampa Bay Lightning are the best team in the NHL with 41 total points and a 20-7-1 record. This team is on fire. they have won their last 3 and are 8-2 in their last 10 games. I know it is only December, but I am looking forward to the playoffs already. this is an exciting team, and hope they keep going with the Maple Leaf's right on their tail. Hey Jon Olson… Looking forward to that Bolts-Leaf's Eastern Conference Finals series…

The MLB Offseason for the Indians has seen them lose Josh Hamilton, who they picked up midseason last year, and now it looks like Bauer may be looking to leave as well. The Indians have been the victim of being good the last few years, while at the same time seen the rise of the Astros, Red Sox and Yankees in the AL. They are a 100 win team, but there are a few teams that seem to always have their number. They need to solidify their pitching staff and maybe pick up a couple of really good bats in the offseason in order to get over the hump next season. But as long as the Yankees and Red Sox continue to spend as much as they have spent, it doesn’t bode well for the Tribe. I am afraid they are lost in the quagmire of high talent in the AL, but… we’ll see.. 2019 is a new year.. and another chance at an AL Central title… and another run at their first World Series since 1948.

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers need to keep Jameis Winston as their #1 QB and let “Fitzmagic” die. Jameis is the QB of the future and the front office needs to get on the bandwagon. I haven’t been very excited about the Bucs the last 10 years, simply because they haven’t provided anything to be excited about. However, if they get the defense shored up, and they rally around their QB they could be a good team.

Moving on… My heart is full of excitement, I am filled with hope, and I can see a bright future for the #1 team in my heart, my soul. and the hope of my fathers… The Cleveland Browns are on the brink of being contenders again. With the addition of Baker Mayfield and a cast of quality players around him, the Browns are respectable again. They had a 2-game winning streak going into the game against the Texans last week, and although they did not play well (hey Baker, maybe throwing 3 picks is not a good thing) I still have hope. It has been a season filled with drama, the firing of both the head coach and the offensive coordinator, Hard Knocks, Josh Gordon, the retirement of possibly the best LT in the last 10 years, along with a 4-7-1 record, they have done better than I imagined. They have been competitive in most of their games this year and I am thrilled with their progress. The future is bright in Cleveland.

Urban Meyer…. I called it on the show Sunday night… I knew he would retire… I just had a feeling that this would be his last season. The combination of the scandal surrounding Zach Smith and his health issues made this inevitable. I am glad he is stepping down, the Buckeyes need to reboot and bring in a new regime, a fresh start, and move forward so that they can show they are among the elite in College Football. Meyer will coach the Rose Bowl, something he has never done during his tenure and then step aside leaving Ryan Day as the head coach. Day coached the Buckeyes while Meyer served his suspension the first three games of the season. Hopefully Day can bring credibility, respect, and a sense of stability to the program. I am hopeful for the future of OSU, and I honor Urban Meyer for what positive results he brought to the program.. specifically a National Championship in 2014 as well as a 7-0 record against Michigan.

I have more to say… more specifically to the subject of domestic violence in the NFL, how it affects the player and fans… as well as the state of the league, the state of the political discord in this country, and other topics I will save for the next post… Right now I will leave with this… The Washington Redskins will sign Josh Johnson as a backup QB to Mark Sanchez this week… leaving the question… why is Colin Kaepernick still unemployed???

just sayin…

Sort:  

I've been rooting for the browns for a couple years now (I'm an eagles fan) and while they've finally been trending up the move to keep hue and the coaching staff till recently while firing sashi brown and hiring John Dorsey was ahuge step back. They should have let the process unfold. Baker was surely still going to be drafted by him as well and I don't they would have ever traded for the incredibly over rated Jarvis Landry. Thankfully they paid little to Miami for him anyway. But he does the absolute least with the most

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for replying, I strongly disagree with your opinion on Dorsey, his first draft as GM was a success, as we did not only get Baker, but probably the best rookie CB in the league this year in Denzel Ward. Sashi Brown was an accountant... and his method would never have worked because in order to build a team you need specific football knowledge and I don't agree he would have taken baker, because Baker was not predicted to go #1 overall, until the whispers that permeated the rumor mill leading up to the draft. Football knowledge is what Dorsey brought from the Packers and lest we forget he is responsible for drafting Aaron Rogers and Clay Matthews. The Browns are stacked with draft picks yet again in 2019, and I forsee them going after an OL that will keep Baker off his back for years to come.

The only thing missing there was a QB. I agree that he may have not gotten Ward and possibly traded down though. And Dorsey was very irresponsible with spending in KC which is partly why their defense is filled with scrubs lol. Mahomes was a rock solid pick but every team that didn't take him early severely messed up. Especially the jags lol. Sashi drafted the majority of the current talent configuration that Cleveland currently has. He was doing an excellent job imo hue was the biggest problem there as evidenced by the players reactions and staff after his firing. It will certainly be interesting to see where they are headed and I'm totally on board with them being an elite team for once. Good luck to yall. Keep steemin we need more sports here 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh so much to respond to. It is nice to have your biased opinion back. Anyone who says they are unbiased is lying. I am unashamedly biased toward my Boston and New England Teams. So first don't forget about the Bruins ( although last night you showed us who is boss )we have some Major Injuries right now. I to think the Browns are headed in a positive direction ( but please do not take out offensive coordinator ) Also regarding Josh Gordon I think that the Patriots Way is good for some players. The talk of no fun and blah blah blah is all fine but at this point to argue and debate that way is dumb. So far he has bought in and I am happy for the kid. Hopefully he can keep it up till the end of the season. Jameis Winston I 100% agree. Fitzs is fun but eventually defenses figure him out and he is exposed. Meyer stepping down is a good thing as well. The Indians yeah sorry baseball is the one Captialistic sport still. The others have gone the way of salary caps but baseballs union is powerful and not sure it will ever happen. Well my two cents for now. Go Pats , Celtics , Bruins and Congrats to the Red Sox 2018 World Series Champs.

Good to see you again as well Larry, thanks for replying. As a fellow biased fan, I have to agree that the Gordon trade has worked out for both the Patriots and for Gordon himself. I only wish him well and success, as his talent deserves it. People soon forget that he led the league in receiving yards in 2013 after only playing in 14 games that season. I hope he gets a chance at returning to that level, even if it is with the Patriots. Oh, and for the record.. The Bruins don't stand a chance...lol Take care my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75