theLEAGUEFEED: Zen of FOCUS-- The Difference Between Playing and Winning

in #sports7 years ago

theLEAGUEFEED intro picture.jpg Focus: In League Sports & In Life

Prelude to a Fog

I woke up this morning depressed. You see, for the past couple of years I have been pursuing my dream, after a lifetime of achieving for others. And now I find that chasing my dream is much more difficult, requires so much more effort and dedication, than than the 'Pleasing Path' I have followed over the years.

I have been a son and brother, husband and dad, employee and manager-- and have moved where others wanted me to to get ahead. I have taken a career path that benefited others who I loved and moved further and further away from who (and what) I want to be. I did this willingly and would do it again for any and all of them.

And then I found over time I had become old and wounded and regretful for not following my path. About two years ago, fate dealt me another blow which could have been my last, but I stepped back and saw the freedom it offered, the corridor to the doorway I have longed to walk through.
I took inventory; assessed options and began to walk down that corridor.

In Plain English--

You see after college I worked in the Radio and Television Markets (producing, on-air talent, writing), but the demands of a family led me down a series of 'other paths' to support and nurture them. And I moved away from Media Industry and into a more stable and less rewarding one. I was also involved with the Leagues-- darts, pool, shufflebowl, etc...(created and hosted a show on local TV featuring the Leagues) and that, for the most part, went away as well...
Until Now-
In essence, I am building a community, site and show around this loosely knit group we call adult social sports.

My show? Glad you asked-

theLEAGUEFEED's focus is to grow the following:

  • The Players
  • The Supporting Establishments
  • The League Administrators
    By Building this Community, we grow the amount of participants, increase the quality of play and the games themselves, and contribute to the businesses which are crucial to keeping the leagues alive and well.
    Why is this important? Life is about the joy of living and Leagues provide just that every week to millions in the US alone.

A little friendly competition to ground us and keep us sane. An outlet every week to help the overburdened or the social >climber to blow off some steam and meet new people while competing in a sport of their choosing.
But it's tough, this 'nation building thing'. This is a wide spread group (these leagues) who are really used to going it alone. As a group, they have never been the center of focus for industry news and how-to's and standings updates or tournaments in their region. Up until this moment, there has not been a unifying voice for this community, a collective source and meeting place to gather and improve and GROW these leagues collectively.

And here I am,

out of the industry for twenty years (but still playing around in local leagues) trying to put together an entire market, build momentum without current credentials or allies to turn to...

Yeah, sometimes I get down...

I fire up the coffee maker, feed the dogs and use the facilities. A deep sigh as I try to put in order my agenda for today...

Practicing Focus

And then I step up to my dart board... And I clear away that fog which gathers in there. Shake out all of the impending doom, the chores and demands of the day, and do not replace them with anything. Just an underlying energy, a quiet possibility which is always there, and I tap into that, begin to direct it and I begin to live in that energy, begin to experience the NOW... A thought creeps in about this being esoteric bullshit , delusional even---(I let it creep right on out) and...

FOCUS

-on the immediate.

And I let fly those arrows from my hand again and again like a painter with a brush in the flow of creating. I drop a marker dart on triple 20, and lay another on top. I tear apart the small mechanics of my throw, check them as any technician would-- for wear and give, then clean and oil and back together. And I take my aim down to a point the size of my dart tip. The smaller the target, the smaller the fallout, the tighter the grouping...FOCUS. Thoughts which come into my mind are only visitors, who smile and continue on their way.
I manage my breath. Deeper, oxygenate, and slowly leave it out as the tension flows away with it. I take notice of small, unconscious portions of what I do, my arm pulling back from the board before I throw-- my backswing so to speak. And it's awkward and ugly when I first concentrate on it until I understand how it works and if it needs sharpened. ...and it flows... I tinker and slow it down and feel all of the negative thoughts flow into my head. You'll mess up your throw along with a lot of can'ts and don'ts. In fact somedays it rains 'can'ts and don'ts' and I chuckle. I relax as these distractions blow through my mind with nothing to stick to, and continue on.

FOCUS

... When the speed is right and consistent, I gradually move onto another portion of my throw.

This is my Yoga, this is my time of prayer and reflection and contemplation and 'FOCUS' is the mantra which clears the board and brings me into the NOW.

It's a different gear I can move into whether I am playing or practicing sports or competing in business or just living Life. It's a neat doorway that's available to each and everyone of us. Sometimes I do this while jogging before first light or paddling out through the break. Sometimes it's as simple as walking the dogs around the neighborhood. But there is always a doorway to cleanse me.
And when I step through, I am in the bright clarity of the NOW, devoid of luggage and clothing stitched with expectations...

FOCUS...

Now, let's get this day started!

theLEAGUEFEED

A growing resource with articles (original and resteemed) about the adult social sports league community (podcast in the works)

If learning to play these sports, from how to find a league to sign up with, through all stages of learning the game you choose interests you, along with setting up and running leagues, well give me a follow.

ALWAYS looking for quality content! If you are posting anything along these lines, leave me know. If it's quality I would love to resteem or link within one of my posts!

Building Stronger Leagues is name of the game....

and don't forget to Feed the Leagues!

🎱
Swansed

Sort:  

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 2.41 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @swansed.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Swansed from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 7.50 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @swansed. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37