It's Summertime and We Are In the Middle of Baseball Season, Let's Do a Flashback to Over 25 Years Ago. Mother's Cookies

in #sports5 years ago (edited)

Back in the Early 1990's I Was Really Big Into Sports Cards (Baseball has Always Been My Favorite), I was Even Opening Up Topps Baseball Cards in the 1960's and I am Sure I Put a Mickey Mantle or Willie Mays in my Schwinn Sting Ray Bicycle Spokes, I Know Right, Silly Me............

Yes, I am Sure My Mom Threw Out Shoe Boxes Full of my Baseball Cards From the 60's, Who Would have Thunk It ??

Well Many of You Know I Like Precious Metals Stacking Now, but I Can't Help But Reminisce And Go Through the 3200 Count Boxes When They Call My Name Early in The Morning.........

I am Sure If I had a Wife or Girl Friend She Certainly Would have Left me By Now Because of my Collecting Addictions.......

Anyway There Was Good Old Mothers Cookies When I was Growing UP in Southern California and in The Early 90's They Had a Baseball Card in Each Specially Marked Bag of Cookies. I Have a Soft Spot for the Circus Animal Cookies (So Good) !

You Tell Me if You Couldn't Resist Eating a Bag of These Bad Boys ?? So Tasty !!

Anyway Since I was Already Spending way to Much for Baseball Card Packs at the Time it Was Only Right that I Got my Nolan Ryan Fix by Buying The Bags of Animal Cookies Too...........

One of my biggest Thrills as a Teenager was Going with my Buddies to Anaheim Stadium to Watch Nolan Ryan Pitch in as Many Games as We Could. Ryan was a California Angel from 1972-1979 at The "Big A" Anaheim Stadium!

People May Want to Argue The Point But in the Modern Era Of Major League Baseball, There in My Opinion was Not a Better Pitcher, Hell He Threw 7 No-Hitters During His Career.........

Anyway I was Talking about Mother's Cookies and in the Bag There was a Single Nolan Ryan Tribute Card Sealed in each Bag, So You had to Eat a lot of Cookies.........

I am Going to Show you 4 of The Nolan Ryan Cards because I probably Have the Whole Set I was Just To Tired to Look Through the Box to Find all of Them........

Houston Astros Card #4......by The Way This Picture of Nolan Ryan Was Taken at Dodger Stadium, The Union 76 Logo Gives it Away.........
001.jpg

Reverse of Card #4
002.jpg

Card #7.......
003.jpg

Reverse of Card #7
004.jpg

Card #9.........
005.jpg

Reverse of Card #9
006.jpg

Card #10.........
007.jpg

Reverse of Card #10
008.jpg

Thank You Nolan Ryan for Being a California Angel and Making Life So Much Fun for This So. Cal Native..........

Do me Favor If You Like When I Share Stories about Sports Cards and Going Down Memory Lane With Me, Then Please Make a Comment Below. I Know, I Know Please Stokjockey Get Back to The Silver you Show Us it's So Much more Fun !

If you enjoy content such as this then please feel free to UP Vote........

Follow me here on Steemit & at Palnet.io @stokjockey

Also Support all of the Silver & Gold Stackers as well as #steemsilvergold !!!

.

Sort:  

Mothers has to be a regional thing. Never heard of them. I was a card junkie and wouldve gotten then just forcthe cards.

The Cookies Are Tasty even Now..........

Mother's Cookies is a brand that originally had a bakery based in Oakland, California, that operated from 1914 to 2008. A sister company, Archway Cookies of Battle Creek, Michigan, was founded in 1936. Both Mother's Cookies and Archway declared bankruptcy in 2008. At its height, the company distributed cookies throughout the United States, and was one of the leading cookie makers in the country. The Kellogg Company acquired the Mother's Cookies trademark and recipes in December 2008 and brought the brand back to West Coast grocery store shelves on May 14, 2009

Nice Ryan

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing, @stockjockey. You are a collector forever, my friend! It makes me smile. Collectors are special, and stackers of precious metals... much more special (hehehe. .That's the bias in me speaking). WOW, boxes of baseball cards! I am sure the hours you spent collecting, admiring, organizing and re-organizing them and the thoughts and imaginations created in your mind while doing these activities.... all brought you to what you are today. There is no thought or action we do is without consequence in our lives. The exception is collecting shoes and bags, which I used to do before I learned to stack.

You SEXY Animal..........

I only got a few hockey cards but my kids never really got interested in them.

Posted using Partiko Android

You just Wanted Some Animal Cookies @kerrislravenhill

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86