My hero - Colin McRae

in #sports7 years ago (edited)

Hi, Steemers! 

I started to drive a car at the age of 12. My father parked an old Renault 4 at the big meadow and show me how to drive. After that he left me alone in the car and told me to drive through the meadow and - just not to go to the river that was beside that meadow. 

And that's how I started to learn to drive. 

At the age of 15 I started to steal the car from my father and go to regular traffic (without driving license, of course).  Back to rallies. 

I always admired rally drivers who went flat out through gravel roads. 

First rally I attended was INA Delta Rally 1990 and I saw only start of it. 

I started to follow World Rally Championship in late eighties. In that time Screensport existed (now Eurosport) and they reviewed WRC events day by day. 

And then miracle happened: I saw Colin McRae and his flat out driving. That moment I knew that I have my hero and I wanted to try rallying. 

I waited in front of Screensport every WRC event to see my hero Colin. 

I remember when he became World Rally Champion in 1995 in legendary Subaru Impreza WRC. 

I also remember September of 2007. I was lying in my living room watching CNN when I saw shocking news: Colin McRae, his son and two of his friends (one child) was killed in a helicopter accident.  

It was sad news for me because my hero was dead.  

And yes, I started my first rally in 2001 because of too much watching Colin McRae's flat out driving!

   last Colin's full season was in 2003 with Citroen

Credit (for photos and videos) to Getty Images and  WRC Facebook official  

Follow @kingscrown for newest crypto news, @b0y2k for moto news and @richman for good cooking. You can find great photos @timsaid :)                  

Great attitude from crew at @minnowsupport :)               

Grab a beer and enjoy!                

Cheers! @ssekulji  

P.S. I almost started to cry while writing this.

Sort:  

Woww Scary video haha, take care bro

thanks, bro :)

U are welcome

Thanks

This comment has received a 0.15 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

This comment has received a 0.10 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

This comment has received a 0.15 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

I never watched rally car. Sounds like you really cared for him. Hit me the same way Reggie Lewis dying on the court for Boston hit me!

Colin really knew how to drive....
Awesome driver. So sad he died so young!

Resteemed by the xx_Votes_Plus curation trail! Want more earnings? Follow @dropahead in Streemian https://streemian.com/profile/curationtrail/trailing/396 and/or delegate some STEEM POWER to @dropahead! Keep up the good work!

This is my version of how I fell in love with Colin....

latest.jpg

still have 2.0 version :)

:'( i almost shed a tear ...

I like your experience and I will follow you do not forget to follow me thank you

I'm sure it's not just me who likes it. Thank you already share. If there is a chance you, I want also you visit my post. Hope you like and like it. I am very grateful for friendship and steemit greetings

Very nice post man have a

15 years old driving car without driving license...he..he .. Good my friend. Nice! :)

it was crazy back then :)

great article... seems like you are die heart fan of motor sport.. thanks for sharing

thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 63705.19
ETH 3145.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55