UFC fighter gets cut from roster after biting his opponenet

in #sports4 months ago

Prize fights are intense affairs. I have actually been involved in 3 professional fights and retired with a record of 1-2. I thought I was one tough mo-fo but as it turns out I didn't have what it took to compete at that level. I will say that it is a rush like no other though and it is a wonderful thing to be involved in if you can do it safely. I use "safe" as a relative word here because obviously there is nothing "safe" about punching other people in the head.

There are not a lot of rules in UFC but there are two major ones that I think everyone can agree with. No kicks the the groin and no biting your opponent.


image.png
src

I'll hand it to UFC in the way that they hold nothing back when it comes to the enforcement of the rules. I think they are constantly under a lot of scrutiny by various commissions and governments because the sport is so violent. I don't know what came over flyweight fighter Igor Severino when he decided to bite Andre Lima at a time when it appeared as though he actually had the advantage.

The exceptionally stupid thing about this is the fact that Igor was undefeated going into this fight and it appeared as though the UFC was going to make a push for either him or Andre Lima.

Dana White for the most part keeps his cool but he did not seem that way about this instance.

“Those were two up-and-coming undefeated fighters, If you get frustrated and want out of the fight, there are plenty of ways to do it, but the worst thing u can do is bite your opponent. Now, you get cut and lose the biggest opportunity of your life. Not to mention, he’s going to have real problems with the NSAC.”

The NSAC is the Nevada State Athletic Commission, which is the governing body that allows people to do fights professionally as well as many other sports. They are known for being extremely hard on violations and have essentially ended people's careers for certain reasons over the years. For the most part they are fair and when the hammer falls on Igor I don't think there will be much grounds for appeal. Years ago they suspended Nick Diaz for 5 years because he tested positive for marijuana. I thought that was absurd but when it comes to biting someone, I will agree with them.

Igor is going to be lamenting this for a long time to come.


image.png
src

He showed remorse after it happened and was extremely apologetic but some things can't be forgiven.


image.png
src

Dana White does have a sense of humor though and he did something that has never been done in the UFC before when he awarded Lima an "I got fucking bit" bonus in addition to the fight purse.

Look, I think there is a certain amount of crazy that has to exist for a fighter to make it at the highest levels. This is why we see people go a bit mental the likes of Sean Strickland, but there is also a certain ethos there that even the most mental of fighters will adhere to and that is to never bite anyone you are fighting. Igor will likely be blacklisted by all the other promotions as well and if he can even find fights they will be in minor promotions for very little money.

Imagine that you have spent your entire adult life working towards becoming something that is very difficult to do and only a handful of people in the world are capable of it and you throw it all away in a moment of brash stupidity that doesn't even help you to win anyway even if the ref doesn't see it. What an idiot!

There is talk about Lima getting the teeth marks tattooed on his body. I had to roll my eyes at that when I heard it and I hope it isn't true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52