Fastest marathon runner of all steemians?

in #sports8 years ago (edited)

So let's find the fastest marathon runner in this community! There must be someone faster than me I guess. My personal best is 3:39. I would love to exchange and discuss training plans with you!

Keep steeming & running ;-),
Clemens

Sort:  

Hi Shaka,
I can share with you my standard training week from my marathon training this year, if it is interesting to you.

Monday: 12-14km Easy run with strides
Tuesday: 12-14km Easy run
Wednesday: Cruise intervals (8x1km, 4x2km or 1-2-3-2-1 pyramid) ~12-15km total
Thursday: 22-28km Medium Long run
Friday: 7km Easy morning run / 7km Easy evening run
Saturday: Long run 30km+ with some quality
Sunday: 5-10km Easy run

For me easy means less than 75% of max HR as my HR average.
Every 4 weeks I take an easier week down at about 70% of the mileage I usually do.
That is what I do, it obviously isn't perfect, but I think is a decent outline of a plan.

Thanks for sharing! Impressive schedule. Unfortunately I don´t have the (mechanical) robustness for such a mileage. 70 -75 km / week is the max I can run during marathon training, beyond that my knees and ankles start making problems. Therefore, I also keep the 30k+ runs down to a minimum, maybe 3 of them during a 12 week marathon preparation. Instead I add a few hours per week on the bike to have additional cardio with reduced mechanical stress.
My weekly routing during marathon preparation (final 10 weeks) is roughly the following:

Mondays: gym/stability
Tuesday: 14km fast
Wednesday: 10k regenerative easy jog, gym/stability
Thursday: 15k easy run
Friday: Intervalls (5x1k, 4x2k or 3x5k)
Saturday: 3-4 h on the bike
Sunday: Long run 20-25km+

I´m not using HR to guide intensity. I realized that I get distracted by constantly checking my puls. Instead I focus on breath rate, 4/4 is easy, 3/3 fast and 2/2 towards the end of intervalls.

I will definitely check back with you after the Berlin Marathon. Good luck and happy training!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51