You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Thrill Of Marksmanship And The Elusive One Hole 5 Shot Group

in #sports7 years ago

Good to see another marksman on here! Couple of questions for you @evoman, keep in mind I'm not a bench shooter.

Why go for such a light round and low twist? I'm guessing the column target needs a 1:14. Is the recoil reduction that significant over a heavier higher BC bullet?

Those rounds are really sticking out of that case. Do you seat them so that the round is pressed on the lands and grooves?

What muzzle velocity are you pushing? Deviation?

Great work, keep sharing!
-Kev

Sort:  

Hey bud,

The 6mm PPC round is the world record setting short range bench rest round so In my opinion, there is no better caliber for this style of shooting.
The twist on the barrel is 13.5 twist. The bullets are Barts Custom Ultra Flat Base 68gn these days .Switched away from the Bergers.
I don't measure my velocity with a gauge. I just read the shot deviation for barrel time.
My rounds are seated .005" off the lands.
The PPC round does look a littler long compared to other rounds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64761.00
ETH 3425.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55