skurfing

in #sports6 years ago

Here in North Carolina there is a rural tradition called “SKURFING”. Evidently this “sport” originated in the 1980s. But I believe it’s been around as long as there have been motor boats, boards, and beer.

It combines the joy of being pulled behind a boat, riding on a surf board, and more often than not consuming large amounts of alcohol.

All you need is a boat, rope, a board, and some friends.

It is similar to wake boarding by motorboat, but does not require as much speed and power out of the boat since the surf board is buoyant.


unfortunately this was the best photo taken... there was a lot of beer involved

Skurfing can be done behind a boat or a jet ski on a river, lake, or in the ocean

If the wake produced by the boat has enough height to it the rider can sometimes let go of the rope and ride the wave with out being towed.

There are actual boards designed specifically for skurfing, but I think that’s ridiculous. Just use an old beat up surf board.

Apparently, my Aussie friend tells me Skurfing is also quite popular in Australia with our friends down under.

I figured I would try it out since I had all the special ingredients lined up with our recent purchase of a boat. We found an area where the water wasn’t too choppy. Away from the ocean currents and other boat traffic. I tried it out with my kite board and my surf board respectively. The experience overall was more a novelty than it was actually enjoyable. And definitely the surf board was a way better choice than the kite board.

Overall, I feel skurfing is a sport for people who don’t have access to kiteboarding or real waves. I don’t think I could ever get into it. It doesn’t even matter how much I have had to drink.

Sort:  

One of the most important issues related to surfing is maintaining optimal physical fitness, improving skills and preparing for the next surf trip. For people like me, who is thousands of miles from the ocean, it is difficult to solve these three problems. For skurfing one must time to time to come to the ocean more prepared, which will win more interesting waves and learn such a difficult sports.

You got a 50.00% upvote from @payforplay! Please consider delegating steem power to @payforplay. We are currently sharing 100% of our profits with our delegators. That's correct, 100%! It doesn't get better than that. It is essentially running your own bid bot without doing any of the work. Steem power can be delegated here: https://steembottracker.com/delegation.html

The force is with you! You got a 25.00% upvote from @steemyoda courtesy of @mike11!

Wow that looks awesome!! Here in South Africa you will have to pick your spot though as a great white shark will launch you right off that board!!
I followed you and upvoted. Would be so awesome if you could do the same. I'm very new here :-) Check out my intro video here https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@travelsa/r9ji45gn
Hope to chat soon
14359166_10210978058515860_8371904207279343477_n.jpg

Sounds like the very definition of being able to alcohol without having fun! I think there do exist quite a few sports like that, but this one is something else, absolutely.

hello @ourdailyboard I am new to steemit I just saw extreme publication about the "SKURFING" and it caught my attention because I practice a sport called "STREETBALL" and I do not know where to publish what I do. Here I made my formal presentation where I explain a little this sport that is an art if you like you can look here.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@wallastreetball/my-first-day-in-the-steemit-community-or-walla-s-c-o

Skurfing in this water in late may with this wildlife and more everywhere you look... life in California ain't bad

Adrenaline a million, I did not know of this modality, it must be very fun you should feel freedom to practice it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56085.77
ETH 2369.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31