Aaron Rodgers' comeback adds another chapter to book of legend

in #sports6 years ago

steemit 6.jpg
GREEN BAY, Wis. -- Aaron Rodgers didn't just come back. He brought the Green Bay Packers back with him.

In his own personal Willis Reed moment, the two-time NFL MVP added another chapter to the book of legend in Sunday night's season opener against the Chicago Bears.

This one might not rank up there in importance with his Super Bowl XLV MVP performance, the Hail Mary in Detroit or the sideline pass to Jared Cook in the divisional playoff game at Dallas.
But to the 2018 season, this 24-23 victory meant everything.

Down 10-0 when Rodgers hobbled off the field in the second quarter after Chicago Bears defensive end Roy Robertson-Harris fell on his left knee, and down 20-0 when he returned to start the second half, the Packers saw their fortunes turn when Lambeau public address announcer Bill Jartz exclaimed: "Aaron Rodgers at quarterback."

“Just to be down like that and come back, that was sick,” Packers left guard Lane Taylor said.

At that moment, 9:09 p.m. local time, 54 minutes after Rodgers had trouble putting weight on his left leg, he ran back onto the field and the comeback began.

“Walking out (for) the second half,” Rodgers said when asked when he knew the Packers would win. “When I realized I probably should jog. I was thinking about walking from the tunnel out all the way to the sideline, but I figured I might as well jog a little bit to let Doc McKenzie know I could do that because I hadn’t done that yet in the bowels of the stadium here. When I got the ovation, at that point, I said, ‘We might as well win this thing.’”

A field goal drive offered a modest start to the second half, and Rodgers only got better from there.

The Geronimo Allison drive -- four catches including a 39-yarder for a touchdown -- made it a game.

Sort:  

@nitins, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!
Enjoy some !popcorn courtesy of @nextgencrypto!

That was a crazy ending for sure...Rodgers with his best Willis Reed impression.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79