The miracle of playing Ultimate Frisbee

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

In recent years the exodus of Venezuelans, due to the humanitarian crisis, has taken my family, my friends and the sport I love.

It seems that every time there are fewer Ultimate Frisbee players in Venezuela, especially in Anzoategui. At a national level, tournaments were held at least once a month, and this year have only made one. In my city we used to play four times a week, and this month we only played once.

Here many people don't have food, medicine, or money, and obviously you can't compare the absence of a sport with not being able to cover those basic needs, but it frustrates you, makes you sad and you feel that you need it urgently. This sport became a necessity for me, and that is why it affects me so much.

I can live without Ultimate Frisbee, but I don't want to live without him, because I decided to forge my life based on this sport. And although so far in 2018 I haven't played as much as I'd like, I've kept that passion alive by only having one record nearby.

Maybe it's just a piece of plastic, but every time I see it, it reminds me that I have dreams to fulfill and that keeps me motivated and full of energy. That's why I have several frisbees hanging on the wall of my room, and that's where I'm going, to always remember it.

In the end all this situation also has its good side: you learn to value more every moment doing what you love, and you focus on enjoying every minute. I think everything always has something positive.

But, wait! I hate the sad stories, the better I'll tell you about "the miracle" of having reunited to play with my friends again after several weeks.

I call it miracle because getting to agree is a challenge. In all Anzoategui we were not more than 20 players; and in the northern zone, which is the most populated, we are barely 13 active people.

The good thing is that this meeting was attended not only by the friends of my city, but also by friends from other cities that I didn't see months ago, and that made the occasion much more special.

I can't describe the joy that brings me to meet people who share the same feeling as me, and also be my favorite place in the world: the beach. It's as if I had given vitamins to my soul.

We play and laugh all morning; When I returned home my body hurt and I was very tired. But happy! and totally satisfied (although I really never lose the desire to play).

Is that in the case of Ultimate Frisbee you exercise the double: practicing sports, and working your ABS, while you laugh like crazy of all the jokes of your friends; because especially in my team, jokes are never lacking.

In the end, this sport is also a "miracle", because it has incredible effects in our lives, such as improving our perspective on the world, and thus finding happiness in the simplest things.

Please, if you have the opportunity to throw a frisbee, do it! Every time a frisbee flies I am happy.


✔️ The photographs are courtesy of Witman Perez.

Sort:  

Shit.. what about Colu, do u know if people play there where u go? I totally feel u as I also cant do my favorite activity in 2018 as much as I'd like to :/ resteemed from whatever reason :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, honey! Yes, there are a lot of people playing! I'm happy because I know that I'll play there 💙

I hope you can do what you love soon (but first take a shower 😂 sorry, is a joke).

Btw if I were you, I'd change those tags like life and story for something else..those are just totally overcrowded tags, your post gets washed there down the history in minutes without anyone noticing it...Can't really say which others to use tho, but something smaller for sure...maybe #ulog, as it talks about your day...or something smaller, more familiar, some kind of project which is being curated by some account..dunno...I stopped using these big tags cuz everyone posts there and it causes to disappear my post in minutes.

That is a great advice. Thank you very much, dear Martin. I'll do it! 😉

U can call me dear however much u want, I'll still hate you :D

😂 U made my day! 💙

Awesome post. The only way to do great work is to love what you do. You have achieved that.

That's the way! Thanks a lot 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82