My first (And Hopefully Last) My Fantasy League Football Draft - Steemit Football

in #sports7 years ago

So I'm not entirely sure what happened last night. Apparently there was a draft for the Steemit Fantasy Football League. Now before all of you Europeans get too excited, this was American Football. I know... That's not Real Football, but that's beside the point.

A Few Weeks back, I responded to a call by @bigpchef for Fantasy Players to take part in the newest edition of the Steem Fantasy League. I love Fantasy Football, so I was down. I got my invite and was directed to claim my team at My Fantasy League DOT com.

MFL.jpg

It looked a little wonky, and nothing like what I am used to with the ESPN Setup, but what the heck. Playing FF against fellow Steemians should be a blast right?

So the draft was scheduled for Monday evening. That was a holiday here in the states, but no big deal. I was available. Well, then we had to move the draft to Tuesday night. That's fine too really. I'm not a busy fellow most of the time.

There are 12 teams in the league. About 8 of us were showing as online as the draft got under way. We waited for the first pick to be submitted and then WHAMMO! We were suddenly all on autodraft and the computer was picking teams for us all the way into the 12th round before the Commissioner could come in and stop it.

Okay... Back up. Reset. Start over.

So the draft restarts, but the available player list doesn't reset. The best available player on my board is Phillip Rivers. In no world do I consider Phillip Rivers the 1.01 in a Fantasy draft. What's going on here?

Finally someone figures out if you reload your browser the players will update. Phew!

So now that we have cleaned the table and reset the draft, let's make sure everyone has adequate time to make their picks. Commish set the timer for 120 seconds. Somewhere along the line we lost a few drafters, and we go through an excruciating hour of waiting 2 minutes for the team that isn't there to go to autodraft. Unlike ESPN, where if you miss a pick, you immediately get set to autodraft your next turn. This place doesn't do that. So we sat, and we waited, we waited, and we sat.

To make matters worse, I was pick 12 of a 12 person draft. Yup, I'm on the turn. So I get to pick two guys in a row, but then I have to sit through 22 other picks before things roll back around to me. Yikes!

Biggest error of the night goes to the Richmond Raiders, who missed the memo that we were starting over, and thought he was making his 12th round pick, when he selected Mike Wallace at 1.06. He must be predicting big things for this guy!

Fortunately, Team Raiders was a good sport about it, and there was a fair bit of hilarity in the chat while we sat through this thing.

Bit props to @bigpchef, @bacchist, @ats-david, and @tuck-fheman who are responsible for this league existing. It should be a good time if everyone stays active through the season. It isn't their fault that things went sideways with the draft, I'm glad we were able to come up with something workable in the end!

If you are involved, make sure you set a week 1 lineup, that is not automatic on this site. And make sure you get your Dolphins and Bucs out of your lineup, their game has been moved to week 11 with Irma looking to affect Florida over the weekend.

If you want to take a look at what is going on. You may or may not be able to view the league at this link: https://www76.myfantasyleague.com/2017/home/23729#0

I'm team Let Bitcoins be Bitcoins. FantasyPros says I have a middle of the pack team, which is okay considering my draft position. We'll see how it plays out.

Thanks for reading everyone! See you on the Gridiron!

Sort:  

Interesting set-up... Looks nothing like ESPN or Yahoo... Kinda looks like something from the early 2000's before websites were optimized.

yeah. It was harsh. And that is being generous.

The odd thing is, I hear analysts talking about mfl10s all the time. That's this site!! I just don't get it.

So painful. Much wow!

Bro. I'm taking Mike Wallace to the moooooooooooooooon!!!!!!!!!! Raaaaaaaaidersss!!!! looooooooool

Until you dropped him this morning! What's up with that?!?!? LOL

He asked to leave so I set him free like a Raven. Fly Mikey Fly! Then I told him.....
1378645_10152378567542175_2834584907632443627_n.jpg

Just remember, if he loves you, he'll come back.

LOL

I heard absence makes the heart grow fonder, and so do stats. lol

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Nice write-up!! Our draft went smoother, but started similar. Only thing was our Commish stopped the bam bam bam drafting, after like 10 picks, not 12 rounds. LOL - have fun and good luck!!

I have a feeling the commish is over all three leagues and had to jump back and forth. "Commissioner" came in to fix things for us, but wasn't a part of our draft. My guess is, same guy.

It all comes out in the end. We'll have some fun and learn from what we go through this year to make next year better, yeah?

I think we need to make sure we have a 3 team championship game in week 17 with all of the individual league champions facing off against each other. @bigpchef make it happen!!!

.

It was interesting, that's for sure!!!

But all in all, I am looking forward to the season. We'll have to see how it all shakes out!

Luck to you as well!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84