My Blind Side

in #sports8 years ago (edited)

I ride dirtbikes - As you all know. If there is a startline, you'll see the pink 35 standing there, waiting for the flag to drop.

Motocross and offroads own my weekends. I have no weekends available for  chilling in a swimming pool or hanging around in the mall, nor do I want open weekends for it. 

So the past weekend I had an offroad race.

GXCC, Round 2, Settlers 

I came into the weekend with a bang. Getting 6th gatepick. The girls were owning this race with 24 entries, including quads! Waiting for the 30 second board to pop up, I loosen my hands to prevent getting too nervous. The 30 second board arrived, hand on the head, bikes in neutral. The flag drops and all you hear is 20 bikes keeping it pinned for the first corner, entering the holeshot 6th, I knew I had to make some passes. By the 5th corner I got to 4th place. The track was so gnarly and well marked. Coming into the pits after a demanding lap of 50 kilometers, I knew this was going to be a difficult 3 hour race, but fun though. 

At the end of the day I got in 3 laps, which was about 150 kilometers in 3 hours. I was physically and emotionally, dead. Tired was an understatement. I ended the day with a 4th place finish, moving 2 places up from the last race. I am working to move up another two next time!

I'd like to thanks all my sponsors, KTM Raceworx, Louwrens Mahoney, EVS, USWE Sports, EKSbrand Goggles, Leadertread Mozambique, Just1 Helmets, HRP, Cycra and EMD.

 That's a wrap. Till next time!

My friend and I waiting to enter the startline.
Entering the startline 6th.
Smashing the burm
Flatout on a straight
Just about dead after the race...
Sort:  

Great write up and pics @megan35 and nice result :)
3 hours is a long race!! haha I'm not suprised you felt dead!

So you ride long distance tracks, our tracks have a lap time of around 2 mins and race times of 20mins + lap. Lots of Jumps and techinical bits thrown in heh... makes it 'interesting' with our weather here... not lovely sunshine like you have :)

Yea the offroad is a loop of 50km but our motocross tracks are also about 2 min a lap. And thanks haha.

Would love to ride some longer offroad tracks!
We have enduro ones here but they are knarly... through really rough trees and streams and tons of slop!

Offroads are basically enduro, without the technical part. So it's like a flat track, but it's not a track, it's a marked out loop. But so fun

Sounds awesome :D

Wow, you did great in your race! Congrats on moving up 2 places and I hope you move up again next time. Thanks for sharing your story and pics! :-)

Your reward for being in Promoted is an upvote from @pipes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49