THE ULTIMATE LIFE - A SPORT AND RECREATION FOR ALL!

in #sports6 years ago

Hi Steemians,

Today, I feel discussing about a sport that I was so deeply passionate about. It was my LIFESTYLE. I used the verb "was" because I no longer have the time and energy to play it directly and compete in the field nowadays.


1

This sport is called ULTIMATE. It is always misconceived as FRISBEE which is actually the disc used. I don't want to discuss history or how the sport came into being in the Philippines as it may bore you. So yes, with a disc and willing bodies, you can officially play this sport. What I love about this sport, aside from I (think) excel in it, is that it knows no gender, age, height, weight, race and many more. What I'm trying to say is that anyone can play. I have played I believe all kind of sports. You name it: basketball, volleyball, lawn tennis, table tennis, badminton, soccer, swimming, baseball and many more but this is where I got attached and became dedicated.

This sport can be played indoors or the more fun, outdoors. You can play in football fields(typical), beaches and even barren lands with grasses.

The GOAL is simple, just like football, hockey, basketball and rugby, you oughta' bring the disc to the opposite side of the field without dropping it or being anticipated by an opponent by passing . The difference is, once the disc is in your possession, you can't run. You have to pass it strategically to your teammate ad he/she passes it and so on and so forth.

This is a non-contact sport and requires no umpire or referee. With proper team coordination and playstyle, a combination of "non-sporty" individuals can actually score a goal effectively than a group of athletic people who are arguing.

We deeply honor SOTG or in expanded form SPIRIT OF THE GAME. This is honesty and good conduct among the players. It is very noticeable in all games played.


2

Though some may up their game by really training hard to achieve lay-outs as shown above. They also train to run faster, throw further and jump higher. This is when competition and a prize is involved.

In our community back in the province, we really don't care about winning. What was important is that we were having fun within the game and after the game. What do I mean? All Ultimate Frisbee tournaments here in the Philippines end up in what we coin as "Socials." This is literally partying all night and getting to know your opponents. Inviting isn't it?

This is the field where I started and trained.

20901637_10209535678884998_5974741476990485766_o.jpg

So in Ultimate, the regular team is composed of 7 members: 5 males and 2 females. This is the only sport I know that has a combination of genders.

Normally, there is a handler, a support and a runner. I can do all three. But I'm a better support and a defensive player because I dive. Yes, I dive to steal that disc from you.

A handler normally is the playmaker and throws the disc to the end zone. Support is of course assisting the handler. Runners are sprinters and are good at disc-reading. When the opportunity comes, they should burst in full speed and catch the disc at the end zone.

10847919_10203126946870703_6878727377055932123_n.jpg

The Ultimate community from our province is ever-expanding. If I remembered correctly, we started with like 20 members. Then when the students saw us playing, they became interested and also started participating. It was some years ago; six I believe. What I love about our community is that we always have gatherings, food trips, and other series of adventures.

Whenever there is a tournament, we help each other in the finances. We stay in one spot. Oh, and I forgot to mention, other communities from other places are like bound to be hospitable to visiting communities. HAHA.

This is by far the best team and tournament I played. This was held in Tacloban, Leyte. If I remembered correctly, we won 2nd place. I had many goals. It was exhausting, I was drained but felt very contented.

63153_514112801933847_1361244242_n.jpg

Depending on the amount of sunlight and heat that feasts on my skin, I wear different outfits.
This is if it is extremely harsh daylight.

547191_3542025625485_301499994_n.jpg

This is if it is early in the morning or late in the afternoon.

10450774_10202633910825110_5822362578539585932_n.jpg

Oh and yeah, before I forgot, during tournaments, ultimate is played sunrise until sundown or even after sundown. If there are lights sufficient to let us see the disc, we continue to play.

If the number of players is insufficient, you can always just develop your throwing and catching skills.

17630039_10211824700311095_3005740841124198375_n.jpg

Here's a picture of us and a mixture of other players. Imagine the fun we had back then. Unlike any other tournaments, the faces are familiar and smiling and they are your friends.

482_514118928599901_1359674004_n.jpg

I also heard different love stories that were conceived due to Ultimate. Ultimate back then was life. I save money for tournaments. I buy gears and clothing associated. Of course, I can't buy directly from outdoor shops because they were expensive, so we buy rummage, smuggled or second-hand cleats, rash guards, and elastic shorts.

It's just sad that we have so many good players here yet they don't have the budget to compete in both National and International levels. Ultimate promotes fitness, camaraderie, discipline, attitude and a good perspective in people. All these traits while having fun. I wish I could play again but due to the nature of my work, I can't.

So, if your schedule allows you, try this sport. You won't regret learning this. People from the community won't hesitate to teach you and let you play. This is a sport where competition is not that important.

footnote.png

Sort:  

I remembered back in Caliraya. I almost got hit in the head when you and some others were playing. haha

Oh my! Apologies for that. It will hurt but not that bad because of the composition and weight of the flying disc.

I honestly did not know this was such a big thing or even a sport for that matter. Really cool man. Will never look at a frisbee as a toy again lol

Haha,thanks man. Initially, I honestly interpreted the "sport" as for dogs only. It changed when I got the chance to play.

The one dog I had never caught a frisbee in the air. He actually waited for it to land and then basically tore it apart... lol

Your dog is barbaric. HAHA...A Viking perhaps?

Hello, your post was nominated for an upvote by a fellow within the Sndbox incubator. Thanks for sharing @luigienius. Steem on :D

Thank you for the opportunity.

Havent tried real frisbee in my life...Can you teach me how please...? Lol. Interesting. Thanks for sharing @luigienius.

I would love to teach you sometime.

I PLAYED ULTIMATE TOO!! Sadly, I haven't played a match for a year now. I miss those days of having to pull the farthest against my teammates :(.

oh, that's good. I haven't played in years. HAHA.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25