Walking on Water - Escaping from GIANT WAVESsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #sports7 years ago (edited)

 I guess Nazaré - Portugal isn't just a town of fishermen and big waves surfers no more.

Meet my buddy Andrey Karr, an all-around Russian sportsman that has dedicated his entire life to extreme sports such as base jumping, big  wave surfing and now, highlining.



Highlining is like slacklining but with bigger lines and way more awesome I guess!  Last year we manage to attach a line between the famous Nazaré Lighthouse to a rock nearby and just stay there, walking and waiting for some good massive waves to hit us. Together with Western Riders, our goal is to capture the best way possible and show it to the world.

Being already a big wave record location and a base jump top spot, Nazaré has proven that yet again there's more to explore and to take use our natural landmarks to create something completely different from the rest.

These are some shots I've been taken over time, waiting for that perfect wave to hit us!


Unfortunately, this is not the angle I'm looking for, despite being an incredible moment, the view I want to share lays under where we standing at the moment, just inches away from waves crashing against the cliff. Just need some rope, a harness and some good luck 😊 


Cheers, Leo

http://www.leodomingos.com

Sort:  

That's sweet! Amazing balance.

It is! Thank you

Those shots are breathtaking. Really well done @leodomingos upvoted and resteemed for you. This deserves a lot.

thank you so much Heidi! Hope you had an amazing holiday season!

Amazing shots👍

Thank you so much! Please take a look at my ig profile for more content! https://www.instagram.com/leodomingox/

Those are some great shots.

Thank you so much! Please take a look at my ig profile for more content! https://www.instagram.com/leodomingox/

That shit looks unreal mate, love the profile shots!

Great shots Leo.

I'm guessing someone swam and then climbed up that rock there to anchor the line? Badass!

Was done by driving the jetski near the rock, climbed to the top and then throwing a fishing line to initiate the rigging process. Cheers !

@leodomingos This is incredible! I have such a fear of deep water and am not a thrill seeker so very scary but great photos. I have upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you so much! Please take a look at my ig profile for more content! https://www.instagram.com/leodomingox/

There seems to be something about Nazare that attracts the maddest of people in the world......I love it. It's definitely on my bucket list, and not just because it would mean the chance to catch up with @heiditravels again.

thanks a lot!

Hey amazing !!! adrenaline a million @leodomingos

Thank you so much! Please take a look at my ig profile for more content! https://www.instagram.com/leodomingox/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56681.24
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28