Mayweather vs. McGregor: Peddling Racism for Pay-Pay-View

in #sports7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-08-19 at 2.09.01 PM.png

Photo by Mike Lawrie/Getty Images Source

With the events of Charlottesville still fresh in the minds of many, it displays that racism is still a major issue in modern society. With this in mind, with the coming boxing circus known as Mayweather vs. McGregor I can't help believe that this is event is using race peddling to sell pay-per-view tickets.

Boxing is one, if not the only, sports that such racist overtones would not only not be punishable, but might even be encouraged. I know it's not encouraged publicly, but the fact that the executives responsible for the fight are not publicly coming out against the racism and bigotry displayed, to me likely means being the scenes they know this is helping to sell tickets.

Why is this fight being billed as one of the largest sporting events ever? No doubt the intrigue of having the best boxer of his generation fighting the best and most popular MMA fighter is what is largely drawing the interest. However, what I don't think is being talked about as much is how race is a draw for this fight. Seeing that race is still a major issue, I think some people, perhaps subconsciously, are interested in this fight due to the battle of races. It's unfortunate that this is the case, and only through education will this end. However, the part that is most bothersome to me is that the the racist and bigot overtones of this fight are not being called out more by the media and those responsible for putting the fight together.

Sort:  

Hi, as a sign of my support for the tag #sports and #football, I vote for you and begin to follow you.

I can dig what your saying and I also believe that anyone who turns a blind eye to the undercurrent of black vs white in sports has been in a bunker with no TV or radio for the last 100 years. However I do feel that this fight would have legs (and then some ) even if they were both of the same race (pick one: Blk or Wht). the Idea of this as the first true crossover fight is huge by itself. Couple that with the fact that they are the best at their respective disciplines makes it one for the ages... The way I see it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62213.63
ETH 2420.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59