Getting the body winter ready

in #sports6 years ago

As we said before Winter is coming and in that case for me it means time for some action. I know, I know it's kind of weird. Most people try to get their body ready for summer and I am trying to get it ready for winter but my agenda is a little different than most people's.




Pixabay

Because living in Switzerland means mountains, and for me that means skiing AND boarding


Both Karin? Yeah both guys!



I love snow and mountain activity with that. You can feel people are starting to get a little nervous since last week when the first storm sugarcoated the tops of the higher hills. I am also realising that I need to get some stuff before that.

Because mountainsports is not only technique, it also requires strength, endurance and flexibility. And it would be suchs a pity if lacking in that got myself in the way. But I realize I need it. I can tell you. Living in the Caribbean doesnt make you the best in shape (understatement of the century).




Action Plan!




Pixabay left and Pixabay right


Yes, it is time to use every natural resource around me to get the general endurance up. Luckily all the option to to that I just right here, and I don't need much special for it. When I walk to work every day, I need to walk over a hill. Apart from this hill, in a normal day I walk up around 20-30 stairs everyday (with about 20 steps per stair in them). Some of my colleagues will always take the elevator for this and take the bus to get to work, I'm doing this the physical way.

Next to the normal walking I have my E-bike ofcourse. Now this is getting a bit more challenging at the moment because it is autumn and the leaves of the trees are falling and getting wet from the rain, which will make the very slippery. So biking is with caution at the moment, but also still for every normal thing I have to do I use the bike and now I am just lowering down the battery support every time. You can make it as heavy as you want, and I am just making it more challenging for myself every time. Hills are everywhere (also on the way home) so I will always get my work out

And why not go to the gym and run, Karin?



Man, this is the easiest answer ever. Because I hate it. Maybe occasionally I will go for a run but this would only be for the 'bigger goal' and not because I like it. Rather give me a hike up a hill with a beautiful view as a reward, than spend my hours in a gym.

But apart from this endurance stuff, I do really believe doing Yoga helps for multiple reasons. I think with outdoor sports people underestimate how important it is to be flexibel. Somewhere along the line you will always need to make sudden movement and its helps being flexible. Also when doing poweryoga the upper legs and core are used a lot for strength, and this is also exactly what you need in skiing. So actually this is a perfect addition. And yes, when you have a nice crash with skiing (ej, it happens to the best) this is a pefect way to give yourself a nice stretch and not only muscle pain.

In other words. Time to get rid of that lazy island sweat and get working on the end goal --> The Mountains!



Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karinxxl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Guess what ?!
We go to Switzerland this year for the wintersport. But I think I remember it's not in your ski area. We go to the Jungfrau. That's close to Lauterbrunen.

Oe Lauterbrunnen is also so fantasticly beautiful in the summertime as well!
Jungfrau is all not THAT far away (in the end everything is close hahaha) but indeed its not entirely around the corner here.

When are you are you guys going this season? see if im in the neighborhood on my skis :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84