⛰️ Rock Climbing Boulder Competition: If you fail, get up and try again! ⛰️steemCreated with Sketch.

in #sports7 years ago

This weekend, my rock climbing gym had their annual rock climbing Boulder Competition, and I was well enough to participate. It's been over 3 months since I got to climb, and I was a little apprehensive about climbing because I have a bad knee and I broke my collarbone a couple months ago.

12309825_10152794153947395_6843502205834317322_o.jpg

I'm glad I went and participated in the rock climbing competition, because it gave me the confidence I needed to start climbing again! Shout out to @muffintuesday for encouraging me to climb again. I climbed about 5 routes before I started to get tired. One of the last routes I climbed was tough, and I kept falling in the same spot. Part of the fun in rock climbing is the ability to overcome a tough problem. There are so many ways to get to the top, and each solution will be different depending on the persons, height, strength and flexibility.


This particular route required me to press against the rocks to hold myself up. In rock climbing, I've learned that you really have to trust yourself... trust that you will grab the rock you are aiming for. It took me about 4 attempts before I finally made it to the top. Every time I fell, I would try something slightly different with my foot and hand placement.


Finally, on the fourth try, I made it to the top... and boy did it feel good to get up there. Sometimes when life keeps knocking you down and you keep failing, just remember, when you succeed, victory is even sweeter. You learn from your mistakes, and it makes you better and stronger.



Love,
Karen

Sort:  

Wow, you are strong! :)

aww thank you! working on it! hehe :)

That's a really nice article, I recently started rock climbing ( ok I was doing it a lot 4 years ago but after a 4 years brake it is literally like starting over again) rock climbing is awesome.

hahha that's how I feel after a long break... I've lost most of my strength... just means I need to get back at it.

that's how I see it too :P

Where were you climbing? I miss climbing so much, I still have my harness and shoes

Oh let's climb! At pipeworks! :)

big respect to climbers. That core muscle!

hahah yes. working on that core muscle! :)

Oh my, I have never bouldered before, only climbed an artificial rock climbing wall. Looks awesome! Didn't even know there were walls with huge.... Well... Boulders like that!!!!! Gonna go back to climbing after taking a sickweek off today! Wish me luck!

hehehe! we have a HUGE rock climbing gym! It's so much fun! :)

Very cool! Your energy is infinite! Take care of your knee! 😍😘😗😙😚🤗🤗

yes yes yes... bad knee sucks... always need to be extra careful! :)

Oh my goodness @karensuestudios your agility and strength s of paramount. Great going.

thank you! :) keep on climbing! Glad to see you feeling better :)

Good job making it to the top even with the set backs of a bad knee and collar bone.

I was in that same position years ago...but just now getting back into athletic shape.

hehe don't let anything stop you! :)

banner, follow up

Ah those big slopey rounded ones. I like to chalk up like mad for those things :)
Great work! :)

hahah yes... chalk is the best! :) I didn't know you climbed too! how fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00