Miguel Andújar feels ready to start in the Yankees

in #sports6 years ago

By Bryan Hoch MLB.com

TAMPA, Fla. - The Yankees' top prospect, Miguel Andujar, focused on improving the movement of his feet during the offseason in the Dominican Republic, and now the 22-year-old feels he's ready to take on a role as holder in the Major Leagues.

"During the winter I was working with the coaches, working hard on my consistency and rhythm," Andújar said Monday. "And the same thing that I've been doing here with (the Venezuelan) Carlos (Mendoza, the coach of the box.) That's the key, I want to be more consistent when I'm playing defense."

The infielders Danny Espinosa, Jace Peterson, the Venezuelan Gleyber Torres and Tyler Wade will also practice in the third, but Andújar's focus will be exclusively on the hot corner. Andújar's bat had something to talk about last year, including three hits and four hits on the day of his debut on June 28 against the White Sox.

"It was a very exciting moment, as well as the whole experience of being here, learning and having fun with the other boys," Andújar said. "When they took me down, it motivated me to do my best, to be able to return here."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68