Illinois Football Ban

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

TACKLE FOOTBALL IS BEING BANNED?

Illinois is currently voting on a bill to ban kids aged under 12 years old to not be allowed to play organized tackle. This is obsurd. Ridiculous. I can’t believe this.

image

This is an example of government telling people that they can’t parent their own kids saying football at these ages are causing the increase rise of concussions later on in their careers. Who are they to decide how to parent your kid(s)?

I remember I started playing football when I was in the second grade. Guess what I know it was a blast. I still have those memories of playing ball that young. I know as a kid, that’s one of the few things that kept me from getting In trouble. The government is trying to watch out for kids’ safety, I get that. BUT, at the same time maybe these kids aren’t being coached correctly. I never have had a concussion. Maybe cause I was blessed with great coaches.

Not only that, I remember how the evolution of helmets have evolved. When I started playing football, helmets had a styrofoam style padding on the inside. Some had a styrofoam padding in combination of an air filled tube that wrapped around the head. Now a days, helmets are pretty much all air filled with almost no, if any styrofoam. We used to call any helmet with air capabilities an “air helmet”. Now that has gone away and just reverted back to a “helmet”. These high tech helmets with designs caused players to hit harder cause they felt less pain in their heads. SOUNDS GREAT RIGHT? Cause it is. But on the other hand players in general let their form get sloppy. Leading with their heads instead of true, proper tackling. This is a discipline issue. Maybe the coaches should have to go through more certifications on how to teach these kids how to tackle properly. Maybe the government should just require kids, parents, and coaches to attend a concussion awareness class, instead of an outright ban. That’s my stance on this issue.

image

(helmet with combination of styrofoam and air tube)

image
(helmet with almost purely air and also with a “gel” style padding)

We are losing our freedom day by day! What are your thoughts!? Please Let me know! Don’t forget to Comment, resteem, follow and upvote please!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61067.28
ETH 3381.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47