About Myself, #Transparency

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

image

My name is Josh Lauderdale, and I wanted to share a little about myself and provide some transparency to the few followers I have.

I was born in Reno, NV. I moved to a small town (approx. pop. 4,500) called Yerington, NV. This small town was the best thing I could ask for growing up.

I have two older brothers and three older sisters. We all have somebody growing up that we look up to. That person for me just so happened to be my older brother Daniel.

I essentially took after his footsteps and did every sport that he did. He was good. Really good. Wrestling (1x State Champ, 1 x state runner up) football (all state QB, rushing for 32 touchdowns and passing for another 16) and track (just a state qualifier)

I believe I outperformed him in high school though😂 as I was in wrestling a 4x State placer, 2X state champion. And placing in a tough 90 team tournament with teams competing from 8 different states. And not only that I was all state mvp in football, and track, well I made it to state, but nothing big happened at state track.

image

image

image

I wasn’t just involved in sports. I took two years of video production class, and graphic design. I was more involved with the video editing side and did graphic design making vinyl stickers, as part of the video production class. I also did one year of basic wood working, and then went on to doing two more years of furniture and cabinet making. I was there, selected to help my wood shop teacher make cabinets that were then actually installed into the school itself. I also did only one year of welding class, and helped design and run the plasma machine, which is a machine that you can put a design on the computer software that ran it, and then would cut your design out on the sheet of metal.

Instead of going to college, I joined the military. I am an infantryman, a grunt. Airborne, meaning I jump out of planes into combat (well that’s what they say). I have not been deployed overseas, although I used to crave getting deployed and fighting on the front lines. But you got to be careful what you wish for. As time went on I realized(not from first hand experience), that war is truly brutal. I realized that I didn’t want to be holding my buddies on the battlefield bleeding out and potentially dying. I remain optimistic though, and if I was to get deployed to an actual combat zone, I would be ready. I am a team leader, meaning I am in charge of leading 3-4 guys into combat, giving directions on what to do, and control everything they do. Everything they do, or fail to do, falls back on me. EVERYTHING. Time hacks, being in the right uniform at the right time, etc. Until we are in combat I am in charge of training them, filling them with knowledge so they can survive in the rigors of combat, even after I get out (8 months away).

image

Once I get out of the military, I plan on going to college for business and computer science. My goals include obviously getting my degree, keeping my relationship with friends and family strong, and growing myself everyday for the better. I hope to one day, start a business maybe in the cryptocurrency space. Not quite sure what kind of business yet, but I have a few ideas in mind. The possibilities are endless.

My obsession on what blockchain and things alike are burning inside me. You can’t be lazy and expect that you will get where you want to be in life. I hate asking people for handouts. It’s a strike to my pride. It should be everyone’s goals to not be so reliant on handouts. Most people don’t take risks. But no risk, no reward right? Im done sitting back.

Another thing I want to say about myself is that I LOVE this steemit platform, and what it has to offer. It’s great. People on this platform are for the most part, nice and they want to help each other be more informed on anything you want to know. I’ve had a very positive experience on this platform and the community here is really driving this platform to be successful!

That’s just a brief overview of myself! Please leave a comment on what you think! I’m open to constructive criticism and growing myself and helping to grow this community, as well as working with positive, bright minds! Let’s make it happen!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! This is a great introduction! This needs to be under the introduceyourself tag:

Nice to meet you! Godspeed in your endeavors post military service.
Followed.

Thank you for the follow! How did you come across my post?

You commented on one of my posts in a friendly way- So I came over here to visit! 😀

That’s awesome! I followed you back! We can share great stories, news, and experiences with each other now! Keep an eye out for my posts, as I don’t post crap! And I will keep an eye out for yours as well! I enjoy what I’ve seen of your account!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87