MY WORLD CUP QUEST: UP THE POLES

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

14/32 WORLD CUP TEAMS COMPLETED

CONNECTIONS

We live in a complex world. The universe is a giant shimmering pool into which pebbles are being constantly thrown. Ripples run into ripples and splash anew somewhere else. But there are times when a moment of order emerges and allows for a pattern of relationship. The earth has been going around the sun for 4 billion years. The Amazon river has been flowing from west to east for 10 million years. I've been watching every World Cup since 1990. The physical structure of the universe as it is means everything is connected. Like it or lump it you are fundamentally connected to everything else in the universe, even if you live in North Korea.

There is a lot of things you can do once you see connections in the world. Many people ignore them. Others see patterns of meaning in them. Still others look for new connections they hadn't noticed before.

CONNECTING THE POLSKA DOTS

Some people try to forge new connections into their lives. They look on new things and people as opportunities. They gladly lay down paths they may never use again. The Entrepreneur is one such person. I met him 6 years ago while Poland were co-hosting the Euro Championship. I had put a call out on Facebook looking to watch football with people from Poland in Bangkok. He saw it an invited me along to a rooftop bar near Victory Monument. That night I met a group of more than 20 Poles in Bangkok. It was a fun and fleeting night surrounded by beer towers and big screens. Entrepreneur no longer lives in Bangkok. He has lived in many countries and seems to make good friends and contacts wherever he goes.

Fast forward six years from that meeting and I'm receiving messages from Entrepreneur while hurtling along in a Bangkok taxi. He's putting me in touch with the Polish community in Bangkok. A few minutes later he's putting me in touch with a football loving Argentinian. People like Entrepreneur understand connected. They so often flourish on the strength and variety of their connections. They stay connected.

UPSTAIRS, DOWN POLES

The venue for the Polish game was a newly opened barbecue restaurant in Rachada. There was very few in the restaurant. It is a two story converted shophouse. The paint still looks wet on the walls and the wooden tables have a shiny finish. I was soon ushered through a door and had some stairs pointed out to me. Upon reaching the top of the stairs I open the door unto a stout Polish man who I assume is my host. Restaurateur warmly welcomed me into the room with a firm handshake and formally and comically introduces me to the group all at once. "This is Brian, this is Entrepreneur's friend". Entrepreneur had left the country but he hadn't been forgotten.

This introduction feels like somewhere between a welcome at a church group and an AA meeting. My worries are quickly assuaged when I see the copious amount of whiskey and soda bottles populating the table surface. Both of those type of congregations want the same thing. I'm relieved that I won't have to spill my sins.

This second floor hideaway was crammed full of Polish people. The Polish flag adorning the wall had its own spotlight. (Restaurateur dutifully turned it on a half time so I might take a better photograph). A chair is magicked up for me and I've got a glass of whiskey in my hand before I can say Robert Lewandowski.

The Polish national anthem tells us that Poland is not lost but it seemed they had forgotten where the back of the net was. They fell behind in the game to Senegal in the first half. After some friendly half time chatting we were back watching the game again. I discovered that I was sharing the room with another man who had watched Poland playing in the Euros six years ago. We are both still here. Still watching football. Still in some way connected.

DIVIDED LOYALTIES

Senegal made it 2-0 and a realisation dawned on me. Every time I watch a team lose I increase the probability of completing my quest. Losing teams are more likely to leave the tournament earlier. At every game so far I had fully supported the team of those I was watching with. Now I was faced with a dilemma. Do I want a team to win more than I wanted to complete my mission? My incentives had come into clearer view and they were not aligning with the people with whom I was watching the games. I'm thankful that the mind-reading devices currently being prototyped are not yet for sale in Huay Kwang market. Poland scored a goal with 4 minutes to go. I cheered. We all did. But outer smiles were not an accurate reflection of my inner conflict. These Poles had taken me into their hearts like a friend for two hours. But inside I was beginning to feel like a traitor. Poland was now ticked off my list. If Senegal win this they might get to the next round. I drank the last generous pour of my whiskey and soda and thought about the stairs. I know their World Cup dream is shattering before their eyes on crystal clear LCD TV but don't they know how hard it is to find a Senegalese in this city?

POLAND IS NOT YET LOST/JESZCE POLSKA NIE ZGINETA

*Join me in my quest. It started here https://steemit.com/sport/@highselfesteem/i-m-going-to-watch-the-world-cup-with-a-fan-from-every-country-in-bangkok-or-sleep-trying and will continue for the duration of the World Cup.

*Other words, pictures and sounds at my website http://www.thisthailife.com/

*Twitter @ThisThaiLife

*Facebook https://www.facebook.com/thisthailife/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59358.13
ETH 2471.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45